Thankful Thursday #4

books

It’s probably not a huge secret, but I should probably confess that I’m a book hoarder. I don’t care how big the “to read” stack is on my coffee table (and next to my bed and on my Nook…), I can never turn down more books. Ever.

Take last night, for example. I went to the library to pick up two books I had on hold. Since I was there anyway, I browsed the stacks and found three more. It wouldn’t be so terrible if I didn’t already have four books checked out from my trip to the library last week…and the fact that I ordered two books on amazon on Tuesday. Plus there are those aforementioned “to read” stacks.

Like I said, I can’t say no. It’s kind of a problem, but admitting it is the first step, right?

Books may seem like a pretty basic thing to be thankful for, but that’s the intent of the weekly gratitude posts. There are countless things that I probably take for granted every day, and reading/access to countless books is one of them.

When I really think about it, I think I’m grateful for books and reading in two respects. One is the act of reading itself. Does it really get better than a comfy spot, a large mug of coffee and a great book? I love that I can get wrapped up in a great novel or laugh out loud to my blind date book from Asheville (instead of souvenirs I purchase a book from each place I travel to) or be introspective/inspired by authors like Brene Brown. There really are too many books and too little time.

I have that love and mentality, though, because I come from a family of readers, which is the second aspect that makes me grateful. What does my family look forward to during winter break? Having everyone in the living room with their respective books, the dogs and a fire in the fireplace. That’s pure contentment. Date nights for my parents nearly always include trips to a bookstore or library, and I can still remember my reward for winning a debate tournament in high school was a caramel latte and new book from Barnes and Noble.

In a roundabout way, books make me feel closer to my family and home. Reading was a large part of my childhood and no doubt continues into my adult years. And thank goodness for that! (Plus I can always blame my mom and dad for my book hoarding tendencies… Though like my dad always says, there are worse hobbies I could have.)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

