Food and thoughts

In my attempt to not eat out as often, I’ve been cooking a lot more (as evident by how many food posts I’ve had — also another perk as far as my 30 Before 30 goals are concerned).

On Sunday night I made a slow cooker chili recipe. I mentioned that afternoon that it had a slight twist. At least for me, anyway. Growing up, tomato soup was always the base for our chili and that’s how I’ve always made mine. This recipe didn’t even use tomato paste, much less tomato soup. Instead it called for diced tomatoes, beef broth and, believe it or not, BBQ sauce. Needless to say, I was intrigued.

I did make a few modifications, as per usual. I nixed the pepper (I can do onions but I’m not quite there with peppers) and used quite a few more seasonings. I’m a big fan of putting cajun in my chili, and I also used a bit of chili seasoning that I had. Since I used group beef instead of the beef tips, I also got to nix the vegetable oil.

While the end result wasn’t quite as thick as I hoped, it was still really good and perfect for the wonderful fall weather we’ve had. Plus there’s something comforting about coming home to dinner that’s been in the crockpot for a few hours. (Speaking of crockpots, I’m tempted to use chalkboard paint to make it look a bit more modern. There’s also the added perk of being able to label it for potlucks and get-togethers.)

chili

And since I didn’t want this post to be entirely about food, I thought I’d share the “life thoughts from a pre-30 something female” from ThoughtCatalog. Some of them resonated with me and rather than doing a lengthy blog post on a few, I figured it was more efficient to recap the bullets I liked. 

  • I think that the company you carry is a direct reflection of the kind of person you are. (It’s like Lindsay blogged about way back in the day: you are the average of those you most commonly hang around so choose wisely.)
  • I think that calling a woman ‘crazy’ is the best way to make her crazy. (I also think the phrase “just relax” does the same thing.)
  • I think that there are times when you should be outspoken and other times when you just need to shut up. (I’m surprised by how frequently people forget about the power of listening. But maybe that’s the introvert in me.)
  • I think that it’s our duty as friends, family, or lovers to be a cheerleader for everyone in our life. (I’m a really firm believer in this one.)
  • I think that there will be lows filled with complete self-destruction, and highs with moments of clarity. (I’ve had the whole spectrum, and that’s when your family/friends become cheerleaders and sounding boards in your own life.)
  • I think that when you know, you know. About anything. (I’m a firm believer in this, too.)

Also, words cannot express how much I love the pieces of life advice, especially number 3, 7, 8, 10, and 19. I’ll spare you my thoughts and just tell you to read the list to see what inspires you.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

