Embrace starting points

After a month off, I figured it was time to get back to my monthly goals.

It seems like an odd concept to embrace, but even though I’m not in school anymore, fall always seems like the chance for fresh starts. And that’s exactly what I need. I’ve spent a lot of time planning and reflecting lately, and now it’s time to start putting ideas into actions to open new doors.

Part of me didn’t want to set up goals for the month since it was really nice last month to only focus on my three over-arching ones. To combat that disengagement, I decided to set just a couple of goals and keep it relatively simple. In some ways, I want to take a step back and start at the beginning.

Create a joy/realistic life list: It’s no secret that I love Brene Brown, but I was surprised when this idea came up in another book I read on my trip as well. Essentially it’s about making the “ingredients for joy and meaning” list. When things are going really well in your life, what does it look like? What conditions (ie: being able to workout, spend time with family, sleep, cook, etc) exist? Both books mentioned that we tend to get so caught up in to-do lists and to-accomplish lists and bucket lists, but we don’t stop to consider if it’s really what we want in life (more on that in another post).

Starting training for the 5K: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again — I’m nervous about this 30 Before 30 goal. But there’s no time like the present to get started. My plan is to do the Girls on the Run 5K with Lindsay in mid-November or I may talk the middle into running the Jingle Bell Run with me the day after Thanksgiving (she just doesn’t know it yet…). Regardless, it means starting to train this month. I’m (much to my surprise) starting to get the mental piece and endurance down through spinning (and I’m just as shocked this has become a thing for me) so hopefully it won’t be as torturous as I anticipate.

Carve in more me time for rest and relaxation: I’ve realized that a lot of my me time lately has been for planning and trying to move forward with my life, and that wasn’t the intent in setting this up as an over-arching goal. As a result, it feels like I’ve been burning the candle at both ends and I’m worn out. I need to create more time for me to relax, whether it’s by reading or crafting or watching a movie. Heck, it could even mean more sleeping. And ideally I would like to not feel guilty about this…

We’ll see how this goes. For the first time in a long time, I have a feeling that this could be a  good month for me. But I’m discovering it’s all about having the right mindset and attitude, so hopefully with that down a bit more I will find more success.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

