No need for newness

For the first time this year, I’m nixing the monthly goals. Here’s why (from this article):

“Everyone simplifies by trying to change their past. Throw things away, organize your belongings, donate some clothes, ditch some friends, voilá. I’m not sure about that. I hold on to what I have, and don’t allow myself to be controlled by that constant need for newness,” he writes.

“Chances are, your life is over-complicated by all the years spent trying to fill a non-existent hole in your life. We all seek out new things – they feel good. It’s especially appealing when you’re feeling down or overwhelmed by life. It’s new and different, clean and untainted; eventually though, it’s just part of the mess like everything else,” he continues, concluding, “instead of seeking more lists and more plans, new clothes and new friends, perhaps look around and consider that you probably already have all the things that you really care about. Cherish the friends you have and wear your favorite shirt to tatters.”

The red flag for me reading that article is that it fits me all too well as of late. My spare room is incredibly organized (which was actually quite an accomplishment), my living room has been completely re-arranged and I’ve got two huge sacks of clothes ready to donate after purging my closets. And the man has a point — it’s about feeling rejuvenated and making life seem less messy.

Unfortunately that feeling only lasts a few days, if not hours. So instead of making more goals and life plans, I need to sit and breathe.

Just a few months ago I had a conversation about the pitfalls of continually setting goals and being focused on self-improvement. It’s as though you’re constantly looking for bigger and better. When is it enough? I’ve often been guilty of being really excited about a goal only to feel lackluster about it a couple of weeks in, prompting me to create new and different goals.

My hope is to break the cycle. Probably not permanently, mind you, but long enough to take pride in the things that I’ve accomplished. It’s time to appreciate the life that I have and embrace it for what it currently is.

life

All that being said…I shouldn’t say that I’m completely nixing goals. I’m still going to work on my three overarching themes (four if you count the communication/positivity) and I’m throwing in one more that encompasses those things: keeping a gratitude journal. But all those help me work toward an attitude and mindset to better embrace life.

See — I wasn’t kidding when I said I’ve had a lot of self-introspection lately!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

