Crafting love

Last week I got a little obsessed with pinterest. In part it’s because last weekend the middle showed me a few DIY home decor projects she wants to tackle in the coming months and I was eager to get back into crafting.

Although my office probably doesn’t need it, I decided to make a chevron canvas based on a wooden one I found. Having never attempted chevron, I was on the lookout for a good tutorial and relied mostly on this one. The perk? I now have a stencil for more chevron wall art! There were a bunch of fun ones on the tutorial so I’m already brainstorming more, assuming there’s wall space for it…

Thankfully it wasn’t as complicated as I thought. The hardest part was probably taping the peaks, and there are spots on the final product where it wasn’t as precise as I’d like. It just makes it look more original I suppose. I almost wish I would have made “love” a bit bigger, but I think it suits the size of the canvas. (As a tip for fellow crafters: use a q-tip instead of a paint brush for writing. It makes it a lot easier.)

Chev

And now it’s hanging beautifully on my office wall:

love

There’s another addition to the office I share with Lindsay as well, although admittedly it’s somewhat nerdy decor. The craft project started as bookends but shortly after purchase (and let’s be honest, while I was purchasing them) I realized the letters were a bit too large to make them bookends. I figured I could either stack them to put on top of the bookshelf, or I could just display them as separate letters, which is what I ended up doing. 

And it should come as no surprise what word I chose, given how much I love it. Plus it fits incredibly well for work! 

Data

And I couldn’t resist making one for my apartment as well. It definitely adds a slash of color (although I feel like I’m constantly rearranging the bookshelf now to see what arrangement I like best).

Love

Quite the crafting weekend, huh?

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Crafting love

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

