Back in action

I thought about making separate posts to increase my total number of posts, but I’m not one to take shortcuts. Also, while we’re on the topic of my 30 Before 30 list, I was getting a head of myself. My half birthday is next month. Thanks to the middle for reminding me (within minutes of it being posted, no less) I have an extra month (like I said, it’s been a rough couple of weeks)!

Tuesday night was a productive evening. I got my butt kicked in spinning (it’s a mental game that I may never win, ladies and gentlemen) and finally went grocery shopping before overtaking my kitchen. I’m embarrassed to admit I hadn’t cooked a single thing in about two weeks. Not even your standard can of soup or pasta or frozen meal. I knew it was high time for me to actually make a meal again.

For some reason I really wanted to make bread. I’m not an avid baker by any means (which I’m pretty sure I’ve made very apparent these last few years…) but there’s something about baking bread that I enjoy. The steps are usually pretty simple, it bakes for an hour and then you’ve got a perfect breakfast item or snack for a week. Plus it smells and tastes delicious.

This time I opted to make strawberry bread, though I made a slight modification and also added blueberries. Next time I’ll have to search pinterest for a healthy bread recipe, somewhat like my whole wheat blueberry bread. The strawberry bread was a bit sweeter but still amazing.

Strawberry blueberry bread

While that was baking I made a spicy sausage pasta for dinner. I do want to preface this with the fact that I really liked the dish and would absolutely make it again. What I didn’t particularly like is that it felt almost like your childhood mac-and-cheese with hot dogs or hamburger helper. Even Lindsay commented yesterday when I heated up it up for lunch that it smelled like hot dogs with pasta. 

Ideally I’d also love to find a way to make it more natural. Maybe making a spicy tomato sauce instead of using Ro-Tel? I’m not sure. It just seemed a little too processed for me with whipping cream, chicken broth and canned tomatoes.

Spicy sausage pasta

I have to admit it felt really good to be back to cooking and to actually have leftovers (and who ever thought I would say that?). We’ll see what bread I attempt next week and if I can find a healthy crock pot recipe since I got one for a steal at a garage sale last weekend.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

