June recap

I feel like I should preface my minor announcement with the fact that I realize just how sad it is. And by no means does it give me bragging rights. I mostly just feel like I need to document it as proof and motivation for myself for the future. Here goes:

For the first time this year, I was completely successful with my monthly goals!

Exciting news, I know. It may have been a bit much embracing the work week (my brain and muscles are exhausted) but I had a lot of much-needed success.  I’m not even sure where the success came from, either. Maybe they were all goals I was passionate about or I finally decided to take control of my life. Regardless, I’m feeling very accomplished heading into a new month.

Try new fitness classes: Check! I tried a new instructor at the zumba studio in town, a hip-hop dance class and hot yoga. I was going to try a spinning class as well but the website had the incorrect time posted (remember my last post about 10% what happens 90% how you react? That may have sparked some of my inspiration for that life lesson…). My muscles definitely felt it by the end of the month. There was a moment in kickboxing last Sunday where I literally thought my shoulder was going to pop out of it socket…but I’m the idiot that went to zumba before hot yoga the day before. Needless to say, I got the jumpstart back into my fitness routine again and I’m back to feeling excited about workouts. The only downside to this is that it makes going on the elliptical really difficult. An hour of zumba seems to go by so much faster than even 20 minutes on the elliptical.

Start 4 items from my 30 Before 30 List: I don’t know that I did one each week like my intent was, but I’m feeling much better on my progress. I even managed to cross two off my list! (And thank goodness for that — I was starting to feel behind since other people were already crossing items of their lists). I finally purchased a bike and went to see a movie by myself. I also made four homemade cards (just 26 more to go!), reached out to a nonprofit consultant and started one of the personal goals. I’m also feeling inspired to tackle more long term projects, which was the intent of this goal in the first place.

Try one new recipe each week: If you couldn’t tell from all my food posts and photos this month, this was definitely accomplished. And I’m not about to recap them all.

Socialize on a week night at least three times: This was a little harder to measure, in part because I would often socialize after getting other items done, like teaching or working out. I had lots of frozen yogurt outings, a slumber party on a Wednesday night (and thank goodness for that since I incorrectly set my alarm and wouldn’t have hit the road on time for our training on Thursday) and had Lindsay go to the hip hop class with me (no way was I going to that one alone). It was hard trying to cram everything into the week nights, but I will say it also helped. On the nights where I socialized I felt much more relaxed and in the moment, if you will. It wasn’t so much about getting X, Y and Z accomplished as it was about enjoying a beautiful summer evening on the porch.

Develop a worksite wellness program: Once I finally sat down to brainstorm and figure out how to implement something at our small nonprofit, I had a lot of fun with it (like it’s almost a little sad how excited I got…). I don’t have a program fully outlined (I need to get more staff input on it) but it’s very exciting to see it move forward.

I’m not sure how to capitalize on the success of the month for July. I’m half tempted to stick with the same goals, but I think that would get a little old. We’ll see. Maybe inspiration will hit during my weekend getaway (let’s hope so, anyway!).

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

