Life truths

I’ve been obsessed with thoughtcatalog lately, though I couldn’t quite tell you why. Just the other day I ran across an article about 20 Truths that seemed to pertain to my guiding principles post. Since I feel like I’m mostly blogged about food this month, I thought I’d impart other deep thoughts onto my readers.

4. If you want meaning in your life, learn to apply it. There is no universal meaning for life. It is, simply, what you make it. So make it what you want. There is nobody else who should dictate what your meaning is, so it’s up to you to apply it. I suggest applying it to the beautiful, everyday things that keep you going. The things you may overlook, but you’d be lost without: the things that really matter most.

I think this is why I love life chats so much — it’s an opportunity to figure out what matters to me (and/or the other person) and if I’m able to actually put it into practice. And it’s the second part that’s important to me. As I saw on pinterest way back in the day, “Well done is better than well said.”

It also makes me think back to a post I wrote more than a year ago about whether my priorities matched my daily life. The things that matter most to me…am I overlooking them? Are they part of my daily life? Or do those things get lost in the shuffle of my to-do lists and other responsibilities? And mostly I think it pertains to people. I hate that I didn’t chat with my adopted grandmother for two weeks and it took me a month to catch up with the little because I was “too busy.” We’ve all got 24 hours in a day. I want to make those meaningful.

5. Being kind is more powerful than you probably realize. You will be amazed at how many people, hearts and opportunities open up when you open your heart to them. It’s a tricky business, kindness, because we live in a world rampant with cruelty, and some may trickle in. Don’t let it close you.

This is actually becoming a really big priority to me (and for the life of me I can’t find the freakin’ quote that really got me thinking about my kindness). Don’t get me wrong – I consider myself to be quite kind. But my kindness seemed to be more geared toward strangers and those in professional settings. I’m more than guilty of not being overly kind to those I’m close to when I’m frustrated with something or someone. Does it make the situation better? Not in the least. Even if I am irritated or hurt, there’s no reason for me to be rude and lash out. Life is already rough enough and I don’t need to add to that.

17. Mind over matter. 10% what happens, 90% how you react. Always.

Fact. The older I get, the more I realize it, too. It even pertains to kindness. A situation may suck, but my bad attitude and resorting to snarkyness is not going to make it any better (actually, nail polish and Diet Coke tend to do the trick). This will probably be a good life lesson to keep in mind when I’m training for that 5K as well….

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

