In the name of goals…

I’d been craving bread but we all know I don’t bake (unless you count chicken pot pies or casseroles/pastas). In the name of June goals, I decided to give it a shot on Sunday afternoon and made whole wheat oatmeal blueberry bread (and if that doesn’t sound like Liz, I don’t know what does). And it surprisingly wasn’t as traumatic as I thought!

Knowing that baking is all about following the measurements, I did just that. I took the original poster’s advice and used 2 cups of blueberries instead of just one.

Blueberries

 

I thought I may have gone a little overboard on the blueberries, but it actually evened out quite nicely. (Surprised I had a baking dish for bread? Yeah, me too).

 

blueberry bread

 

An hour later (during which I had a fabulous phone chat with the little) I had this beautiful loaf of blueberry bread.

 

 

Baked

In some ways it tastes like a blueberry muffin, though it’s not overly sweet. I actually wish it had a more grainy texture, so in the future I might sprinkle oats on top of the bread. They don’t come through quite as much as I thought they would in the bread. But on the whole, I was really impressed with it — not to mention the fact that I successfully baked something from scratch. And let me tell you, this blueberry bread tastes a heck of a lot better than the blueberry muffins I would typically make out of a box.

You’d think that I wouldn’t want to make dinner after baking but I was on a roll. I thought I’d try something a little different and make a sweet potato black bean quesadilla. I opted not to use the kale, but even with that it felt like I was missing something while I was cooking. I must have been rebelling after having to use such precise measurements while baking since I barely looked at the recipe. I wasn’t sure how I feel about the sweet potatoes so I stuck to two instead of three. I also didn’t fully mash them since it reminds me too much of yams.

Stuffing

I’ll confess I’ve always been leery of making quesadillas, but primarily because my sister had a quesadilla maker when we were growing up. I didn’t think I could master the evenly cooked and perfectly timed dish. Thankfully, I did. And I was surprised by how much I liked them. It’s definitely something I’d make again, especially when I tackle 30 days of being a vegetarian (dates still TBD).

Quesadilla

I’m not sure if they’ll be good as leftovers (I’m about to find out for lunch, though) so I decided to play it safe. Instead of making all the quesadillas at once, I made one for dinner last night and lunch today. The rest of the stuffing is in the fridge and ready to whip up fresh quesadillas later this week. I figure that way I’m more likely to use and actually enjoy the leftovers. At least that’s the hope.

And after all that eating, I opted to get out for a long, leisurely bike ride. That’s right — I’ve finally purchased a bike! It’s a little too pink for my taste, but I still love it. I’ll have to work up some skills before I venture out onto the trails since I’m a little rusty (and my dad reminded me of a traumatic bike accident I had when I was about five years old…). Regardless, it was a fabulous way to end my weekend, not to mention a good opportunity to log a few extra miles for the month.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

