Pinterest knows best

I don’t know what got into me, but I am rocking my goals for the month! It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you plan ahead! And thankfully this week was pretty successful in the recipe department.

(Side note: last weekend I tried a chicken and bow ties recipe with the gentleman that turned out to be better than I expected. I didn’t take a photo so I didn’t want to devote too much of the post to it, but I will say that while it’s initially a little soupy, once it thickens it’s a good consistency. It even makes for decent leftovers, and coming from me, you know that’s saying something.)

It seemed a little unconventional, but Sunday night I made buffalo chicken quinoa salad. I loved that it was a really straight-forward recipe, though I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about broccoli and carrots mixed in with buffalo chicken. I nixed the cabbage (primarily because I forgot about it at the store) and in the end the broccoli didn’t bother me at all. The carrots would have been better if I’d cooked them a bit longer and that’s a simple enough alteration.

Buffalo chicken

I didn’t use green onions but I did throw on blue cheese. I was rather impressed with the “salad.” Normally I don’t mind quinoa so I wasn’t worried about that. It’s just that buffalo chicken usually stands on it’s own really well so I thought having it paired with something with such a different texture might throw me off. It was almost like a stir fry using hot sauce instead of teriyaki sauce. Lo and behold, I’ve found something a little healthier to make when I’m craving buffalo chicken (although most of the time I’m just craving the sauce).

Buffalo

Speaking of healthier options, I’m not sure if the other recipe I tried is all that healthy, but I’m already hooked at this point so I could really care less. I actually wouldn’t be surprised if this ends up being a staple in my refrigerator. Always.

The other day I came across a recipe for no bake energy bites on pinterest (where else?). Lindsay’s got me on a sweet kick lately and I’ve been a sucker for ice cream (thankfully frozen yogurt suffices just fine for me). I figured these would be a good substitution for when I’m craving something sweet but don’t want to overindulge or spend money.

Bites

All I can say is oh baby! I figured I would like them, though, given all the oats and grainy texture, not to mention peanut butter and a bit of chocolate. I’m not sure whether it actually increases my energy or not, but that was about the last thing on my mind.

How in the world did we function before pinterest? (Feel free to insert an eye-roll here. Maybe I’m getting hyped up on those no bake bites after all!)

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

