Focusing on the why

Despite feeling like I’ve barely made a dent in any of my to-do lists (yes, there are multiple lists…), I’ve been feeling relatively energized and inspired, in part by goal setting, but just knowing that my calendar is a bit more open so I can focus on the things I want to do.

That focus shifted a bit as I’ve been thinking back to an article I saw on posted on Facebook. Mostly I thought that what I was trying to accomplish in life and my purpose was pretty much one in the same — like becoming a life coach, writing and volunteering. But I completely buy into the notion that if your purpose is external (much like happiness), it likely won’t be found. It’s something deeper than being able to cross something off your bucket list or 30 Before 30 List.

It also parallels what Lindsay’s been learning through her leadership class (with none other than Eric Greitens! So naturally I’m living vicariously through her and I’ve been half tempted to do some of the assignments… But that’s neither here nor there).

One of the things she mentioned from her previous class session is that you have to get to the why of what you want to do. That’s what will springboard you into not only discovering your purpose but also provides the intrinsic motivation to do something with that passion.

Lately it seems I’ve been focusing on the how of my goals. How do I get a certification in life coaching? When do I want to go vegetarian for 30 days? How am I going to find and afford a non-work related conference? In the past few weeks I’ve been going overboard trying to figure out the who-what-where-when part of my goals that I forgot why I wanted to do them in the first place.

In fact, I got so wrapped up in the how of life coaching certification that all the sudden I was disheartened by the whole process. Did I really want to do it? But when I ask why it’s important to me, how could I not pursue it? And I have no doubt it will work out. I really wanted to be certified as a CDSMP course instructor so I was able to work with my supervisor to fit the training into my schedule and – viola! – starting Tuesday evening I’m co-teaching my first course.

When you focus on the why, you’re motivated by something entirely different. And it goes back to the notion that if there’s a will, there’s a way inspiration I got from You are a Badass. It’s a little bit harder to put into practice, but I think it was the change in perspective that I needed. I’ll figure how the when-where-how in due time. I just need to focus on why I set the 30 goals I did and what purpose I hope to gain from it and learn about myself.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

