Embracing the work week

My summer certainly started off with a bang in May. My theme of appreciation was very fitting and I made the most of my traveling opportunities with the family and the gentleman. Between that and dogsitting, though, I only spent about half of the nights last month sleeping in my own bed and was only in the office for about half of the work days.

My normal schedule and routine seem pretty non-existent, but it was well worth it (and I’m only feeling slightly guilty for not meeting my mileage goal for the month).This month I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things but in a slightly different manner. Given all the excitement and renewed energy from last month, I was a little nervous looking at my planner for June. This weekend I get to visit the middle, but outside of that I’m not traveling at all (incredibly rare for me). I also have very little (non-work wise, anyway) on my calendar. What’s a girl to do?

I think it’s easy to fall into a rut where people mostly look forward to weekends and vacations. I’m probably guilty of it as well, primarily because that’s when I have more time to dive into projects and spend quality time with those I love. But why wait until weekends and vacations?

My hope for this month is that I can restructure my weeks and/or change my mindset slightly. On Mondays I wake up, go to work, make dinner, workout, read and go to bed, then repeat for four more days. It’s not bad, mind you, but then I’m more apt to get stuck in a rut where I’m counting down until Friday. What about taking advantage of my Monday through Friday at 5 p.m.?

That’s why in June my goals are all about embracing the work week.

Try new fitness classes: There’s a new zumba/dance studio in town and you can bet I’m thrilled about it! My goal for the month is to try the hip-hop dance class (and although the instructor’s taught a few songs in my regular zumba class, I’m pretty sure I’m still going to look utterly ridiculous) and two new zumba instructors. I’m generally a creature of habit but it wouldn’t hurt to expand my horizons a bit (particularly since I was short on my mileage for May. Like I said, I’m only feeling slightly guilty about that…). I’m also planning to give hot yoga another run and hopefully try a new class entirely at the gym.

Start 4 items from my 30 Before 30 list: Since I have a lot of ongoing projects to accomplish in the next couple of years, my goal is to start tackling one each week this month. Primarily I want to focus on creating my travel boxes and the recipe book, but I think June will also be an opportune time to start watching movies from my IMDB list. It’s time to put my Netflix account to good use given the same DVD has been sitting on my coffee table for a couple of weeks now…

Try one new recipe each week: It’s been so long since I last attempted a new recipe that I’m a little ashamed. Summer’s the perfect opportunity to try fresh new dishes and incorporate new fruits and vegetables, so this weekend and early next week I’m going to look through my stockpile of dishes to make and see if I can make a dent in that. And of course I’ll have to post the noteworthy recipes and whether I was successful or not.

Socialize on a week night at least three times: I’m not sure how the month will unfold so I didn’t want to to be too ambitious. Mostly I want to find ways to get excited about a Tuesday evening instead of retreating to my normal dinner-workout-read-bed routine. The weather is nice, the sun no longer sets by 7 p.m., why not go to the winery or out for a hike? Even going out for ice cream and walk around downtown Columbia would be a relaxing way to mix up my routine and get more enjoyment out of my week nights.

Develop a work-site wellness program: A few weeks ago I got the go-ahead from my supervisor to develop a work-site wellness program. I’m (naturally) really excited to dive into research and planning  a program, and by making it a goal for the month I’m more likely to make good headway on it. My hope is I can come up with something that not only gets me in gear, but also helps inspire others as well. Since I get to co-teach my first CDSMP class starting June 11 (!!!), most of the material should be fresh in my mind to develop some fun activities and ideas.

While it won’t have quite the same excitement and activity level as May, I’m really looking forward to a month of regrouping and enjoying my day-to-day life this month. And if nothing else, it doesn’t hurt that I have a trip home for the 4th of July to look forward to….

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

