Sharing inspiration

This post is a bit disjointed (I attempted to combine four drafts I was half-heartedly working on this week) but hopefully it has a point, so bear with me.

I have my off days like everyone, but for the last few weeks it seems like I’ve had my fair share of them. And it’s annoying. What makes it worse is that I can’t really explain why that is or put my finger on it. In some ways it’s because I’ve had this running theme of one-step-forward, two-steps-back in my life. (Post 1) When one aspect of my life is going well, another part of it starts to tank. There’s no consistency, and for someone who likes to see progress, it’s infuriating.

Anyway, the funk hits for whatever and it’s pretty noticeable. And believe you me, I’m not fun to be around when these moods strike (unless you’re Lindsay and find my “rage” humorous since it seems so out of character for me, but she’s out of the country right now). I don’t even like being around myself, so I get it. So what makes me feel better (aside from a Diet Coke that is)? Goals and planning.

I decided it was time to be proactive about my 30 Before 30 goals. I started looking into the items that would require a bit more planning on my part, like becoming a life coach and  attending a non-work conference. Both are things I really want to do…and then I saw the price tag. (Post 2) Cue panic and a pity party. Becoming certified as a life coach (and technically you don’t need to be certified, but I’d feel weird doing it otherwise) can cost upwards of $2,000-8,000. I knew it was an expense, but not one that steep. Ayi carumba!

Thankfully around the same time I was reading You Are a Badass. Sounds odd and looks a little too self-helpy, I know, but it’s actually a really great, straight-forward read. (Post 3) Plus she’s a life coach, so it helped keep things in perspective for me.

One of the chapters focuses on the financial barriers of achieving your dreams, for lack of a better phrase. And it honestly did help me change my perspective a bit. As an example, if my car were to break down tomorrow (knock on wood that it doesn’t…) I would find a way to get another vehicle. If I really wanted to travel somewhere (like to London with the sisters), I can save and budget to make the trip happen. It’s similar to the “if there’s a will, there’s a way” adage. If it’s something I really want to do (and life coaching is) then I’ll find a way to become certified. Scary and overwhelming as it may be, it stays on the list.

And through all this, I keep thinking back to this video that was all over Facebook and pinterest a few weeks ago. (Post 4) Parts of it had me saying, “Right on!” but there were also parts that really frustrated me and actually made me wonder why everyone seemed to be so in love with the video. One statement in particular bothered me: “There are those who are amazed and those who are amazing. There are those who are inspired and those who are inspiring.”

I’ll admit that part of the reason it probably bothered me is that I’ve felt less than amazing and inspiring lately. But even if I did, I’d still take issue with the notion that there are only two types of people in the world. I actually think it’s better to be both. I’m easily inspired, and I think because of that I can go on to inspire others as well. The same goes for amazing. I’d think you’re crazy if you weren’t amazed when you visit beautiful places or meet interesting people.

So long story short (in my grand attempt to tie this all together…), I’ve realized that despite my valiant efforts, I’m not always going to feel amazing or like I’m on my A-game. But I’ve found that those off days or “eh” moods provide a perfect opportunity to redefine what it is I want from my life right now and figure out how to achieve it. It’s also a great opportunity to have life chats, to find inspiration and learn how others have accomplished the amazing things I strive to do. Now if I could just go out and make it happen…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

