Fresh start

I unveil my 30 Before 30 list…and then go MIA. I wish I could say my absence is just my flare for dramatics or that I’m busy getting a jump start on those goals. Sadly, neither are the case.

This past week or so I feel like I’ve been guilty of the “do as I say, not as I do” trap. I was geared up to focus on appreciation this month and somewhere along the way I lost it. I got back from a fabulous family vacation (and although I appreciated it, I think it was a whirlwind for us all given all the activity) and seemed to put myself into over-drive. I wanted to do X, Y and Z on top of A, B and C. Heck, just yesterday morning I had a great hour-long walk on the trail with Miley (I’m dogsitting between my two trips) and immediately went into a coffee-fueled uber planning mode to figure out I needed to get done for the upcoming week. So much for appreciating a beautiful, relaxing Sunday morning.

It seemed only fitting that I would be reminded that I need to take a chill pill. After work I wanted to get Miley (and let’s be honest, myself….) on a long walk. I’d gone back and forth about it all day since we’re in a tornado watch and according to the weather app on my phone had a 40% chance of rain all evening. Instead of lollygagging about whether to risk it, I had a “take control!” moment and got my shoes on and Miley on a leash within seconds of walking through the door.

The first half of the walk was great. Then just as I’d jokingly predicted, within a minute or two of turning around to go back to my car, it started to downpour. Instead of panicking or getting in a tizzy, I took it for what it was. Pouting was not going to stop the rain or get me back to the car any faster. So Miley and I had fun with it. We raced. We spotted a turtle. She sniffed puddles while I avoided stepping in them. We got back to the car soaked but in good spirits.

wet dog

And had it looked like this pre-walk, I probably wouldn’t have taken her in the first place. Probably.

clouds

Strangely enough, it’s what I needed. Instead of running around like a crazy person tonight, I’m writing a blog entry with great music and rain in the background, a mug of hot tea and a gorgeous (albeit wet) dog chewing a bone at my feet. How can you not appreciate that on a Monday evening? My adopted grandmother always likes to remind me that it’s great to have goals and feel accomplished/productive, but that’s not all there is to life. Duly noted.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

