30 Before 30 List

After lots of deliberating, adding, deleting, googling and asking anyone and everyone for suggestions, I’ve finally completed my 30 Before 30 list! I can’t say I’m 100% satisfied with it, but I think it captures a majority of the things I’ve talked about accomplishing or wanting to do and just haven’t done yet.

In addition to my initial difficulties with setting goals, I was also concerned about making sure my goals were something I could work toward, accomplish and then cross off my list. Quite a few of the 30 Before 30 lists I came across had items like “get in the best shape of my life/get down to my goal weight” and “meet someone famous” and “travel the world.” They may be great goals…but how do you measure that and determine if you succeeded? How do you know you won’t actually end up being in the best shape of your life when you’re 32 or that you’ll put on 10 pounds a few months after hitting your goal weight? (I think my program evaluation and CDSMP training has given me a bit too much exposure to goal setting do’s and don’ts…).

That doesn’t mean I was perfect with my goals, though. I will confess that I’m “cheating” in two areas on my list. One goal actually has three sub-bullets, primarily because they’re (at least in my mind) somewhat related and I didn’t want to count them as three separate goals (plus I’m an over-achiever, so if it means I technically have 33 goals, then so be it). Then for my book goal, I’m using my birthday this past February as a start date to make it an even three years.

What really helped in creating my goals was categorizing them. Before I had my four sections, the list was too overwhelming to even look at and I knew I needed this to be a document that didn’t scare me every time I looked at it. It also helped in creating all my googledoc tracking logs (and it’s actually rather sad how excited I get to set those up…).

And now for the actual list (as always, I give way too much background before getting to the point…). I didn’t list all of them, in part because some will eventually be gifts and others are personal. In the interest of brevity, I also didn’t include an explanation or my thought process behind why items are on the list. I figure I can always provide that later on (ideally when I’ve accomplished them).

Career
1. Become a certified life coach
2. Publish in some capacity — byline on a research project, newsletter, etc.
3. Volunteer with a new nonprofit organization
4. Find a work mentor
5. [Personal]
6. Reach out to nonprofit consultants to chart a path to get to that career

Health
1. Train for and run a 5K (real nervous about this one!)
2. Get a personal trainer
3. Give up pop for 90 days
4. Buy a bike
5. Get a full physical / health assessment
6. Go vegetarian for 30 days

One Time Events
1. Take a community education class
2. Adopt a dog
3. Have a spontaneous weekend getaway
4. Watch a movie in a theater by myself
5. Travel abroad
6. Stay at a bed and breakfast
7. Go to a non-work related conference (writers workshop, blogging conference, etc.)
8. [Personal]

On-Going Efforts
1. Read 100 books
2. Find a way to permanently store/organize all my photo and mementos
2A. Make travel boxes for all my major traveling excursions
2B. Start and complete a sisters photo album
2C. Clean out the clutter in my room at my parents’ house
3. Create a recipe book of all the dishes I’ve tried and would make again
4. Hone my photography skills (take a class and/or read through a guidebook, though step one is to get a decent camera…)
5. Visit 7 new states so I’ll have visited 30 states total
6. Write and send 30 homemade cards to family and friends randomly throughout the year
7. Watch at least half of the movies on the IMBD Top 250 movies list (currently at 82)
8. Finally organize my iTunes
9. Participate in a book club
10. Hit 500 blog posts (this post makes 293)

And there you have it!

Like I said, I don’t know that I’m 100% satisfied with the list, but I’m still really excited (though admittedly nervous) about each of the goals I’ve set. Plus now that I’ve blogged about it, it means it’s officially time to start working on crossing items off my 30 Before 30 list. I’ll probably provide updates every couple of months, but in the meantime, wish me luck!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “30 Before 30 List

  1. Pingback: A free spirit with a five year plan: my 30 before 30 project |

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

