Mama G

“Most of all the other beautiful things in life come by twos and threes, by dozens and hundreds. Plenty of roses, stars, sunsets, rainbows, brothers and sisters, aunts and cousins, comrades and friends — but only one mother in the whole world.” Kate Douglas Wiggin

It occurred to me that I’ve posted about my other family members on birthdays, so I must be saving the best for last.

As in most families, my mom is probably the glue that held us together. She’s the one I called when I experienced my first break-up and when I wanted to turn down a great fellowship opportunity just because it “didn’t feel right.” It’s similar to the Harry Truman quote, “No one in the world can take the place of your mother. Right or wrong, from her viewpoint you are always right. She may scold you for the little things, but never for the big ones.” Regardless of what the issue was, I knew she’d be on my side. Most of the time I didn’t even have to explain myself. She just knew.

Not only that, but most of the qualities that I’m “known for” (for lack of a better term) come from my mom. She’s had a craft room for as long as I can remember, and she’s the only other one in the family to cry when something sad or sappy happens (the middle just laughs…). My mom is sensitive, emotional, always willing to lend a helping hand and never hesitates to tell those she loves just how important they are to her — and those are things I love about her and myself.

Family always came first for my parents, and it’s likely why I hated (and I mean hated) being separated from my family when I was younger (and if you think I’m dramatic now, you should have known me when I was a child…). Despite my protests and tears, though, my mom didn’t back out of opportunities to have a weekend or week-long getaway with my dad or friends. Without even knowing it, she taught me the meaning of balance and giving yourself a break. (And the woman undoubtedly deserved a break. As I mentioned with my dad, the sisters were quite a handful  — and still are when you get us all in the same room. Enough props can not be given to them.)

My mom has taught me countless lessons and I’ll always be appreciative for her unwavering love and support. Happy birthday to a woman who consistently put up with a houseful of crazy, stubborn, sarcastic and strong, shall we say, personalities!

VNP

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “Mama G

  1. Kathy Gebhart

    Lizzie Bear, Thank you for such a wonderful tribute! You made me cry!

  2. Kathy Gebhart

    Would that be CRAZY glue?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

