Burger queen

You’ll have to excuse the lame title. That’s what happens when I have too much caffeine. And every so often I just have a lame sense of humor, particularly when it comes to corny jokes.  But that’s neither here nor there.

While I’m by no means an expert at making them, I love these black bean burgers. The gentleman and I made them a few weeks ago and I’d been craving ever since. I’ve been pretty hit-or-miss with black bean burgers in the past, so I’m happy to have found a recipe I enjoy. This time around I added mushrooms and onions. I can’t say that it added much more flavor, and it probably didn’t add much more to the nutritional value either.

I still trying to find a good way to make the burgers stay together a bit better. I feel like I hold my breath every time I flip a burger over since there’s a pretty good chance it will fall apart on me. Thankfully I had some success last night, though it may not look like it.

Burgers

It could be that what I like about these black bean burgers are what I pair it with and not the actual bean burger. In my book, you can never go wrong with adding avocado, and I feel like I found a hidden gem when I came across colby pepper jack cheese a few weeks ago. It also makes it look a little more appealing.

Black bean burger

I can’t say black bean burgers will forever replace actual burgers for me, but based on ease of making it (minus flipping it over…) and nutritional value, I’m definitely a fan.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Burger queen

  1. I completely agree that ‘burger-substitutes’ can’t replace burgers for me, but there are a nice easy meal to make in a pinch and I almost always have the ingredients on hand! In addition to black bean burgers, I enjoy chickpea burgers (similar to falafel), salmon burgers and lentil burgers. I had the same trouble as you – that they tend to fall apart. I find that baking them in the oven first, then searing them on a grill or in a pan helps keep them together! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

