Because a list solves everything…

I’ve made a bold decision today (I really have quite the flare for dramatics, huh?). 

Yesterday Lindsay and I had a really great life chat during our lunch hour as we sat on the porch of our office building. Part of the quarter-life crisis is discovering that the world is your oyster…but what do you want to do with it? Without the confines of school and other imposed goals or pressures, what should you be working toward and what do you consider to be priorities? 

One of the fears that Lindsay and I both share is not taking advantage of our youth and getting “stuck” before we’re ready to be settled. This is the time to travel, try different hobbies, meet different people. Really it goes back to the quote I posted a few weeks ago about your 20s being the period of your life dedicated to becoming. 

So what do I want to do? How do I make sure I’m taking advantage of my 20s and paving the way for the kind of future I want? Overall I have grand ideas about what I want out of life, but I haven’t really taken the time to break them down into actionable plans. Plus they seem so long-ranged that it doesn’t necessarily feel like I can do anything about them now. At some point, for example, I’d like to be a consultant for non-profits. Given all the experience you need to do that, it’s just a goal I keep in the back of my mind but don’t really do anything about it now. Yet I know I need to be growing and challenging myself professionally to make sure I can get to that point. 

That’s a lot of background to basically say that I’ve decided to take action and create a 30 Before 30 List (and typing that just made me realize that I’m three years shy of being 30….oh boy). I jokingly wrote about creating one back when I tried hot yoga, but that never really went anywhere. Well, there’s no time like a present. 

I’m surprisingly excited about the list, but it’s proving to be a little harder to create than I thought. My first issue was whether I could/should include things I’ve already accomplished — like trying hot yoga or getting certified to teach the Chronic Disease Self Management Program (side note: I get to teach my first course starting in June!). I currently just have them italicized on my list and will remove them if I think of other fitting goals, but I’m really struggling with whether to include them. 

What I also found to be difficult was thinking of more long-term goals. I’d like to try another spinning class or take a community class from the catalogue that I get excited about every time a new one is released, but those tend to be more in the realm of my monthly goals. Probably given my all-or-nothing, inability to focus and proactive mentality, I’m better at coming up with short-term goals. All the more reason to tackle a 30 Before 30 list. 

I’ll probably blog about my list once it’s done (I’ll be honest, I only have nine items right now) but one thing I know for sure is that it’s time to get crackin’. I’ve got two years and ten months to accomplish 30 items (give or take if I decide to “cheat” and include things I’ve already accomplished). Here goes nothing!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

