Taking control: Home decor style

While my take control month was primarily about my health (and thankfully I’ve kicked that up a notch in the last week, which my body is painfully aware of), it’s also been about those pesky home projects I always manage to postpone. It’s easy for me to put off things like organizing my spare room or closet and taking unwanted/unused clothes to Goodwill. This month I’ve been doing well with those home projects (minus the spare room — how is it that desks always become the largest shelf??) but there was one project in particular that I really wanted to accomplish.

I don’t even want to admit how long I’ve been wanting decent wall art for my living room. Last July I added two canvases to one wall and talked about my desire to create another one for the other wall. Did that get done? No. (Although it was primarily due to indecision on my part.) For the last three years I’ve been staring at home decor done on a graduate student “income.”

Before

See why I wanted a change?

True to my take control attitude, I decided enough was enough. The canvas project I did with the middle a few months ago inspired my big canvas. I purchased a canvas a few nights ago thinking I’d likely run with the circles, though I still sent the middle a panicky email with five different canvas options and half a dozen questions about color schemes. Then I reminded myself to put on my big girl pants and just take control.

Since I wanted a  purple background (there’s already too much white/beige in my apartment) it did make the process a little harder. I did find a way to make the circles much easier to work with, though you can see areas where I ran out of patience and perfectionism while painting. The trick this time was using cork coasters. I purchased 12 for all of $5, and it meant that I not only had consistent circles to lay out on the canvas to see what the spacing looked like, but I also had a cover for the circles while I was painting. Definitely worth the investment.

The canvas definitely has a DIY look to it that’s growing on me. It definitely brings more color and depth to the room, and the navy pillows also helps it pop more. Another perk? The supplies (five paint colors, the coasters and the huge canvas) were all of $30, which is far cheaper than any canvas I could buy at a store. Plus it just looks pretty.

After

I’ll admit it’s taking a bit of getting used to (when I came out of my bedroom this morning I had a “what the heck is that thing??” moment) but overall I’m happy with it. My hope is to do some touch-ups on it this weekend. For my first attempt at a big canvas, though, I can’t be too hard on myself. And mostly I’m just thrilled I finally took control and have some grown-up art in my living room!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Taking control: Home decor style

  1. Decorating can be hard, especially when it’s on a budget! Great job though!
    Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

