Deep thoughts on a Saturday morning

“I suppose the more you have to do, the more you learn to organize and concentrate — or else get fragmented into bits. I have learned to use my ‘ten minutes.’ I once thought it was not worth sitting down for a time as short as that; now I know differently, and if I have ten minutes, I use them, even if they bring only two lines, and it keeps the book alive.” Rumer Godden

This was one of the quotes I got this week through the daily Moment of Happiness emails. I’m not sure why, but it’s stuck with me. It could be that I’ve been so scatter-brained lately (I probably don’t even want to know how many times a day Lindsay has to hear me say, “Liz, concentrate for 10 seconds!”).

The thought is probably way deeper than it needs to be (and also not at all what the quote is about) but I’ve I’ve been thinking lately about the ability of people to change.

A large part of changing is being able to change your mindset. That’s what I’ve been hoping to accomplish, to some degree, by setting up my action plans and “resolutions” this year. My personality tends to be all-or-nothing. I work hard, I play hard, and then I ultimately crash hard (as evidenced by the aftermath of taking control).

Is is possible to change that? What influences that aspect of my personality? I know the sisters are the same way, too, but I don’t necessarily know where that stems from.

What makes it difficult is that I also have conflicting goals and attitudes — sometimes even throughout a given day. One part of me wants to just all the ‘ten minutes’ that I have, to be productive and efficient when possible. That’s what “take control!” was all about this month. I wanted to use my time wisely to accomplish all the things on my ever-growing to-do list. After all, a little progress is better than no progress.

But then another part of me wants the ability to slow down, to sit back and appreciate where I’m at and my life as it is now. It’s the do this, do this, rush-rush-rush mentality that causes me to feel overwhelmed and then create all of these monthly goals focused on balance and simplicity. Clearly something isn’t clicking for me just yet.

The bad part of my deep thoughts is that I often don’t have solutions. And I’d say just being more aware of it helps, but it’s not like this is an earth-shattering revelation on my end. But perhaps in time I’ll find a way to balance or merge the two mindsets so it’s not a constant back-and-forth battle. Let’s hope so, anyway.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

