Taking control re-do

I have to confess that I may have taken the “take control!” mentality a little too seriously right off the bat.

Instead of the “have willpower in every aspect of your life” approach, I took on the mindset of “don’t put off until tomorrow that which you can do today.” So each day I tried to cram in everything that I could (which isn’t hard given my personality — my mom always likes to remind me that even when I was a child I had a “but first I need to…” attitude, though admittedly back then it was to put off chores or going to bed).

In some ways it was nice because I stopped putting off the pesky tasks like dropping four bags off at Goodwill, re-ordering checks, taking my recycling to the center, etc. It felt really great to be accomplishing so much and I was able to keep going on that momentum.

Then a few days into it, I felt like I’d been hit by a train (although I suppose it didn’t help that my allergies kicked in and I ended up looking like I felt). Throw in an insanely hectic week after a rough weekend (minus my fabulous day with Lindsay, who hung out with me despite the watery eyes and sneezing) and this whole “taking control!” thing has me feeling a little out of control, actually.

I talked to the middle about it this evening, and the interesting thing is we both primarily took on this mentality to focus on our health. With all my traveling and the weather, I hadn’t had as much of a focus on working out and making healthy meals lately. What do you know, the second things got busy this month, my health was the first thing to go. Heck, I even had a doughnut today — and I don’t even care for doughnuts!

That’s when I know I wasn’t all that in control. Thankfully, though, tomorrow evening my life will slow down somewhat and I can celebrate my successes of the week. I’m going to recharge my batteries and try starting this “take control!” thing over again, this time making my health more of a priority. And hopefully between hot yoga and kickboxing this weekend, I’ll feel a little less guilty about that doughnut…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

