Taking control

To say that I love being at home is an understatement. This weekend was no exception, and in fact, it was greatly needed. I read two books, bought five more, had great life chats, good family time and smothered these two precious pups.

Kona

 

Summer

As evidenced by the photo of the golden, one of the slight downsides to being at home means that I indulge. (It also doesn’t hurt that I’m a pro at justification…).

At one point this weekend, though, I declared that enough was enough (and in true Liz fashion, the declaration to my family was quite dramatic). It’s not uncommon for me to say in an exasperated tone that I need to get my life together, but this time “take control!” was my mantra of choice. And I got the middle on board as well.

My sisters and I (and the more that I think about it, quite a few of the people I most commonly interact with) are big on being proactive. I tend to have a lot of patience, but one of my pet peeves is constantly talking about something without actually doing anything about it. That’s where my patience admittedly runs thin.

While I was reading The End of Your Life Book Club (and I promise it’s not as morbid as it sounds), I stumbled upon a really great quote that fit my taking control mindset:

She felt whatever emotions she felt, but feeling was never a useful substitute for doing, and she never let the former get in the way of the latter. If anything, she used her emotions to motivate her and help her concentrate. The emphasis for her was always on doing what needed to be done.

In the last few months I’ve been pretty soft on myself. In January I focused on simplicity. In February it was all about self-love, and last month was about finding balance. It’s all very feel-good, in part because I was accounting for the feelings of stress/frustration and being overwhelmed. Now it seems like my feelings got in the way of actually doing something (though in certain case, like the stupid snow days, there wasn’t much I could do but feel frustrated).

Granted, that was the purpose of my “resolutions.” I didn’t want an all-or-nothing structure where my chances of “success” were slim. I wanted action plans that allowed me to take steps toward incorporating changes into my life. And some have stuck. I’m still hitting the 55-mile mark each month, I’ve completed 12 books this month (it may not seem like a lot, but it’s a little surprisingly how many books I start but don’t even come close to finishing) and my social connections are still going strong.

For April, I’m changing my approach to see if I can’t shake things up a bit. I won’t have well thought-out goals for the month that I’ll harp on and continually monitor or evaluate. In fact, when I asked the middle how we were going to approach this “take control!” month she simply said, “We’re going to have willpower in all facets of life” before saying we needed to take the bull by the horns. Nothing like getting fired up by a Breakfast Club reference…

The bottom line is that instead of talking (or in this case writing), I want to be doing. (Although I couldn’t help myself – I did create a googeldoc of the things I want to be doing this month just so I’m not going into the month completely unprepared). It may very well be a cluster, but at least the middle’s with me on this one.

And for the record, it’s not a joke. When we told the little about it last night to get her on board, she jokingly said, “April Fools, right?!” In a few days I may wish it were a joke, though…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

