Greek to me

For the first time in weeks, I feel like I’ve got a game plan going into my week (more on that tomorrow), including my meals. Particularly since it’s the first time I’d gone legit grocery shopping in literally weeks, I wanted to kick off the week with something a little adventurous for dinner.

I started with a chicken gyro recipe, though truth be told I don’t know that I’ve ever really had a gyro before. It reminded me of a falafel wrap I had in London (and love doesn’t even begin to describe how delicious it was), though obviously with different “meat.” The thing I was most torn about was the tzatziki sauce. In fact, halfway through making it I started googling other recipes just to see if I was on the right track.

Knowing I probably wouldn’t use much of the sauce, I halved the recipe (in part because that much Greek yogurt can be expensive and I’m attempting to minimize my grocery shopping purchases). I did throw in lots of dill and surprisingly the cucumber wasn’t too hard to slice and dice. While I didn’t strain the yogurt like the recipe directed, overall it turned out to be a lot better than I expected.

Tzatziki sauce

My gyro was paired with a vinegar potato salad. Since it’s starting to finally feel like spring, I had a hankering for potato salad. I’m a sucker for it. In fact, any time the little and I are home during the spring, summer or fall, it’s a given that my mom has to make her famous potato salad and it’s a fight to see who gets the leftovers.

Knowing potato salad isn’t entirely healthy, though, I settled on the new recipe. I cheated myself all little since I didn’t actually use champagne vinegar. But even using plain balsamic vinegar worked just fine. I even liked the onions in it (who knew) and will probably throw some hard-boiled eggs in tomorrow.

The two new dishes definitely woke up my taste buds. I do wish I could have found different pita bread or made it from scratch, since that took away from the freshness of the gyro. I also wish the chicken had a bit more flavor. I thought it would since it had so many strong ingredients and the fact that I let it marinade for an hour. But alas, it tasted like your typical chicken.

Chicken gyro & potato salad

I’m fairly certain I’ll be making the potato salad again (although I kept trying to figure out what exactly makes potato salad a potato salad since I thought it was the mayo-based sauce, for lack of a better word). It’ll be a toss-up on the gyro. Maybe with freshly-made pita bread or having it in a wrap form instead of a pocket would be more enjoyable.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

