Loving self-love

To say I loved my month of self-love is an understatement. I wish it could have ended on a more positive note, though I suppose you can’t really predict what mother nature is going to do. In part because of that, I wish I would have chosen a longer (or at least less busy) month for this endeavor. It didn’t feel like I had nearly enough time to do my self-proclaimed self-love bootcamp. But there’s always next time.

As with last month, I don’t want to recap all my goals, but here’s a few highlights:

  • I think I love yoga. One of my goals for the month was to challenge myself, although I lied a bit in that all my challenges were workout related. I tried Atma-Jayam yoga (it was fabulous for stretching out my hips, but I seemed to undo that work the next night with Zumba) and hot yoga again (I only got dizzy once and kept up almost the whole time!!). Tonight I’m trying a high energy yoga class and this weekend I’m trying an aqua aerobics class, both of which were pushed back in the month due to snow. My goal was one new class a week and if nothing else, I’m glad I’ve found new activities and classes to shake up my regular physical activity. 
  • On a related note, by some miracle I hit my 55-mile goal mark for the month. It was a struggle, particularly considering the month is already short and nearly 4 days I was under house arrest thanks to snow. But I did it. I even had 6 miles to spare.
  • Today is the first day of my CDSMP (chronic disease self-management program) training. It was supposed to start last week but was rescheduled because of the snow (are you sensing my frustration with the weather yet??). Just looking at the agenda made me incredibly excited, and it’s even more exciting to think that after this training I’ll be able to teach courses on managing and preventing chronic diseases. Double win!
  • One positive thing the snow did (so I don’t come off as overly bitter) was give me the perfect opportunity to work on my spare bedroom and inspiration board. The two days I worked from home this week I used that space, so it’s definitely become more functional. And my memory/photo boxes are much more organized as well. It was a much-needed accomplishment.

All joking and bitterness aside, the snow days were probably good for me. I got to spend a lot of time with myself and it forced me to slow down a bit (though the next couple weeks making up for it will be rough). And while I’m a little sad to see this month go, the beauty of my “resolutions” and monthly goals is to slowly incorporate activities into my life. The things I loved about the month can carry in the next month.

If there’s one thing my snow days this week taught me, though, it’s that I need to refocus (which is becoming more clear to me as I seem to become more and more redundant). Partly because of how short and busy the month was, I feel like I short-changed my overall health goals for the year, aside from my mileage. Thankfully I’m already re-channeling that energy to come up with next month’s theme and goals. It’ll be a switch from my laid-back self-love mentality, but it’s very much needed.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

