The power of protein

In a rare moment the other day, I was craving red meat and knew exactly what I wanted. I did, however, want to find a somewhat healthy alternative. Enter the healthy makeover of meatloaf.

I’m not a stranger to cooking meatloaf in muffin tins. It’s actually how I prefer it since it tends to cook more thoroughly in a shorter amount of time and it’s great for portion sizing.

What was new for me was using carrots. Because of that, I actually measured out all the ingredients and followed the instructions quite closely….which actually seems to be more of the norm lately (blows my mind, too). I did use a few extra mushrooms since I’ve been on a kick with those lately, but otherwise I took a pretty straight-laced approach.

In the end they turned out just fine. Actually, it didn’t taste any different from standard meatloaf, although to be honest I’m not entirely sure how much easier the recipe is. I’ll take it, though.

Meatloaf

Plus I got to use the carrots and mushrooms (and broccoli) as the side. Perfect pairing.

Meatloaf meal

Hopefully that protein helps build some muscle after shoveling snow today. And I say shoveling loosely. This afternoon I resorted to using my dustpan as a shovel. Quite the innovative workout if I do say so myself.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “The power of protein

  1. maren

    Such a GREAT idea about putting the meatloaf into muffin tins! I should try that sometime! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

