Snow days –> self-love days

These past two days have been both good and bad for my month of self-love. It was bad in the sense that not only did I miss a new yoga class, but the chronic disease self management training I was going to attend was cancelled. It will likely be rescheduled so I’ll still have the opportunity to be trained to teach the courses, but it was still a bummer.

I’d been feeling behind on a lot of things, though, so the two days of forced aloneness helped tremendously. After working from home yesterday (I mostly mention that so I can state that I have intense love/hate relationship with Excel…seriously), I pulled all my memory boxes into the living room. And just when I thought I’d found them all, I located two more.

Three hours (and surprisingly a few Kleenexes — Lindsay was right about how tough it can be) later, my seven boxes (which started as nine…) were purged, organized and put away. Like I anticipated, it gave me a really great look at how far I’ve come and how much things have changed. There were also moments where I literally laughed out loud, like the letter I read from the pen pal I’ve had since first grade that said, “I can’t believe we’re almost 18!! We’re getting old!” Nine years later I still think the same thing…

Before I jump into my other February goal-related projects, I should unveil the craft project from my weekend with the middle. It’s probably not as amazing as I hyped it up to be, but you know I love a good canvas. Plus it’s different from anything I’ve done and gave me an idea for the large living room canvas I’m hoping to do this spring. Let me tell you, though, it takes a lot of patience, primarily for the measuring and tracing. But in the end it was definitely worth it:

Canvases

While I was with the sister, I had her help me pick out the background for my inspiration board, knowing that if I did it on my own, I’d end up standing in the paper aisle at Hobby Lobby or Michaels for far too long. With the snow day today, I had a perfect opportunity to pull it all together. While I did two fabric boards for my bedroom, I opted to go with paper so it was easier to hang items and also change out the colors should I have the whim to do so. It’s still a work in progress, but so far I love the color and inspiration it adds to the spare room.

Inspiration board

And I didn’t stop there. I’ve been so eager to finally make use of the spare room, and I mention a week or so ago about the Tyler Knott Gregson typewriter series prints I purchased. They came just in the nick of time – the day before the snow hit. I had the chance to pick up frames Wednesday night, though I wish I could do something a little more unique with them since I love them so much. Actually, I think I’d love to mod podge them onto canvases, but my one experience with mod podge was not so great.

I’m also planning to switch out the two flower prints. Those are just what happened to be hanging up at my office before I replaced it with the flower canvas earlier this month. I haven’t quite decided what would compliment the other prints. Photos of those I love? Single objects with colors that pop, similar to the flowers? I know I don’t want quotes since there’s already enough of that. Hopefully inspiration will hit this weekend.

Frames

What’s even better is that the middle reminded me of a spare comfy chair we have back home that would actually be perfect for a reading space. It’s a slight bummer I won’t finish it this month like I’d hoped, but I’m definitely impressed with my progress. Heck, I’ve even writing this blog entry from the room right now (apparently it helps to clear off the desk to set up your laptop…).

Even though I’m starting to go just a little stir crazy, being trapped by the snow has actually been the perfect opportunity to tackle the projects I set out to do this month. My snow day(s) turned into self-love days, and the timing couldn’t have been better.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Snow days –> self-love days

  1. Pingback: Back in action! | Can't Take Me Anywhere

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

