(Self)-love for the middle

I blogged about the middle last year on her birthday and couldn’t help but do it again (at least briefly) this year because of the strong connection to self-love (plus I just love her).

She’s turning 24 today, and while it’s my favorite number and age, it also tends to be a very trying point in life. In May she’ll be finishing grad school and heading out into the “real world,” so this semester is about figuring out what’s next (and believe me, you couldn’t pay me enough to go back to that uncertainty).

While things will undoubtedly be stressful and overwhelming during the next few months, there’s not a doubt in my mind that she’ll land on her feet. In some ways, this girl is the epitome of self-love. She may not know exactly what she wants to do career-wise, but she knows what she wants out of life and is willing to work hard to get there. She’s bold, not afraid to take risks and always tells it like it is. And she loves proving people wrong. I’ve learned the hard way that you don’t tell this girl what to do.

In fact, one of her catch phrases in recent years is “Imma be me” (she’s a little BA, by the way). It’s something that sticks with me when I’m tired of being a people pleaser, in part just because it’s fun to say. She rarely has that problem, though. Even when she was a wee child, she was incredibly independent, outspoken and hated being told what to do (and we have plenty of home videos to prove it).

The middle was always the one to test the limits and I can’t even begin tell you the number of times she’s done something that’s made me shake my head or roll my eyes. But that’s what makes her strong. She’s comfortable in her own skin, she owns up to her mistakes and celebrates her successes. She does what’s right for her, and that’s what self-love is all about. I’d say another year older, another year wiser, but the middle is already wise beyond her years.

Royals

 

Happy birthday to the lady who teaches me what self-love (and more) is all about! XOXO

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

