Speaking of love…

It’s no secret that I love love. Not even just romantic love, but all kinds of love — friends, family, pets, passions and interests.

I’ve been pondering what to do with my spare bedroom. Currently the only art I have hanging is the “let love guide your life” canvas I made a few months ago. I want to make a space that reflects me and has a functional purpose, but I’ve been stumped on what to do. Part craft room, perhaps? An office area?

I’m happy to report I’ve finally started making some headway. A few months ago I wrote about how much I love Tyler Knott Gregson. He was having a typerwriter series Valentine’s Day special, so I decided to take advantage of it. And that’s when I decided love would be the focus of that room. Already the room encompasses a lot of what I love — photos of family and friends, my memory and photo boxes, books, crafting supplies and projects. Why not embrace what’s in there in a more functional way?

Particularly since it’s one of my self-love goals for the month, that’s become my newest mission. I’ve already spent the morning organizing and visualizing where to hang what and how to organize the random stacks and messes currently taking over the room (how does the desk always manage to become the largest shelf in the room??). Much like my simplicity actions and goals from last month, it’s been a cathartic experience, too.

While I’m excited about the project (in part because I’m in an organizational mood), I’m mostly just relieved I finally have a direction. I feel like it’s been an under-utilized room for the past 8 months, so I’m thrilled to be making some headway. Finally.

These aren’t the prints I chose (I’ll save that for when I finally get them and have them hanging) but I have to share my current favorites:

Treading water

 

Passion

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

