Catch-all evening

 

It’s evenings like last night that bring my energy level back up and restore my sanity.

It was time to get my ducks in a row. Originally I’d planned on trying a step aerobics class as part of my “challenge myself” goal. Given that I’d already had a workout that morning, I had a hard time committing. On the one hand, I’d already worked out and my to-do list seemed to be ever-growing. But on the other hand, it’s not every day I’m in Columbia early enough to make a 5:30 class.

In the name of self-love, I decided to skip. (Actually, one of my self-love goals was going to be learning to say no, but I figure eight was already plenty for the month. As with internal conflicts, I’m also really good at guilting myself into things even when I know I don’t want to do them, though sometimes it’s necessary.)

So where does the self-love part come in? I needed to take care of me.

Lindsay and I were chatting last week about how sometimes you get so inundated with little things you need to get done that you don’t even know where to start. It’s like I cross one thing off my list and add five more, which only adds to the frustration. It’s one thing to feel like that in school/work life, but I really hate it in my personal life. My energy level plummets and I become cranky. And last night I’d finally decided enough was enough.

At 5:00, I put on yoga pants, a hoodie and my glasses (like Lindsay, I’m trying to wear my glasses more). After throwing in a load of laundry, I brought out my beloved hot glue gun. I’ve had a spare canvas already painted and leftover “petals” from previous art in my spare room for about two months now. I figured I’d make another flower canvas for my work office just to add some color. I even mixed it up from the flower artwork I normally do, which I actually think I like more. (And keep in mind I’ve been meaning to do this for two months…a task that took all of 30 minutes…)

Flower canvas

I also made a new dish: chicken thighs with artichokes. I’ll be honest that even before making it I wasn’t thrilled about it, though I do love artichokes. In fact, while I was cooking I was actually thinking about how I’d have to explain that it was just an average way to make chicken (it’s a little odd — I often have a running commentary in my head of what I want to blog about my cooking experience).

Chicken & Artichoke

Lo and behold, I ended up really liking the dish. It’s probably not for everyone, but I loved the flavor combination, aided by the kalamata olives I added to the recipe). I will say I won’t be going out of my way to cook chicken thighs, though. My chicken was a piece of work after I cut off as much fat as I could (I should mention I’m not particularly graceful, especially when I have sharp objects). While my cooking venture got off on the wrong foot, I’d definitely make it again with chicken breasts.

The rest of the evening was spent crossing about a dozen things off my list, ranging from developing photos to journaling and cleaning to backing up my hard drive — mostly those pesky little things you keep meaning to do but don’t really get around to when you should. I even found time to get in a solid hour of reading (naturally about love and happiness since it’s February).

You’d think after my productivity I’d be worn out, but I’m convinced there’s a correlation between my accomplishments/productivity and energy level. The more I accomplished, the more energy I had. Even now in the early hours of the morning, I’m raring to go (granted I’ll probably crash by mid-afternoon, but that’s what coffee is for, right?). Now I’m just hoping this energy and positivity keeps up. I’ve got a lot more to accomplish in the name of self-love this month!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

