Simplicity achieved

I won’t lie — simplicity wasn’t entirely achieved. I’ve made a lot of strides this month but some components are still going to be a work in progress. And that’s okay. The intent with my goals and themes was to embrace the process in order to (ideally) make lifestyle changes.

I don’t want to recap all my January goals of embracing simplicity (in part because I know they’re not that interesting), so I’ll just post the highlights.

  • My book lists don’t stress me out anymore! While I still have three, I’d designated each list with a specific purpose. My goodreads list has essentially all the books I want to read. There were a few books I couldn’t find on there, so I use my amazon wishlist for those as well as books I can’t get at the library. As you might expect, my library list is reserved for books that I’m able to get at the library.  Perhaps that simplicity with shopping and spending finally sunk in (although I did buy five books this month…old habits die hard, I tell you!). 
  • To say I love my new approach to grocery shopping is an understatement. The end of the week generally gets more difficult (Lindsay and I often play the, “do you think eggs go with this? Can I pair this with chicken?” game) but he pros definitely outweigh the cons. Not only do I waste less food, but I also spend less money. Plus it means I go to the grocery store less frequently (and those that know me know it’s a task I loathe).
  • Hot yoga. While technically it wasn’t a goal, it does relate to my overall focus on health and certainly cleared my mind. Even five days later, I’m still blown away by how zen my mind and body felt. In fact, I’m thinking about going again… But first things first: a regular yoga class.
  • Speaking of my health theme, I’m convinced that the social aspect is going to be key for me this year. I absolutely love having a pen pal and my friend dates kept me sane. Just this past weekend Lindsay and I closed down a coffee shop (like Lindsay mentioned blasting “Closing Time” was their not-so-subtle hint for us to leave) before relocating to another. Yes, on a Saturday night. But it was exactly what I needed to get out of my funk.
  • Another of my yearly goals is challenging myself with reading, which I’m also getting a lot of enjoyment from. Not that it was a huge jump, but this month I read Fahrenheit 451 and Animal Farm (among others), both of which I thoroughly enjoyed. I have to admit I’m more than a little concerned that I never had to read them for school like everyone else seems to have done.

It’s hard to believe January has already come and gone, although I will say I’m more than ready to be done with it. January seems to put people in a funk, and I’m no different. Looking back I had a lot more success than I thought when I first sat down to write this post, but my hope is a fresh month and new goals will reinvigorate my theme of embracing life.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Simplicity achieved

  1. Pingback: Friendship success |

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

