All aboard

I’ve been intrigued by the “boat” concept for quite some time. I’ve been eyeing zucchini boat recipes but wanted to start with something a little thicker and seemingly more sturdy. Enter the cheesy baked spaghetti squash boat.

I’ll confess I’m not entirely sold on spaghetti squash. My first experience with cooking it left me feeling indifferent, but if at first you don’t succeed, try and try again. Or something like that. Either way, I tried to have an open mind about the recipe and also followed the instructions (though in retrospect, throwing mushrooms and olives in would have been a fabulous addition). Aside from  throwing more seasonings on the chicken, including sautéed garlic, and mixing the spaghetti sauce with the chicken instead of piling them separately, I impressed myself with my ability to follow directions.

The one downside to the recipe is how long it takes. Given that the spaghetti squash alone takes an hour to bake, I had to plan accordingly. (I suppose I could just cook it in the microwave but that just doesn’t seem as legit.) On the plus side, I guess, once you put the spaghetti squash in the oven, you have a good 40 minutes of free time before you have to cook the chicken. And this time I cooked the squash long enough to where it wasn’t a complete disaster getting the spaghetti-like strings.

Squash 1

I probably could have cooked the boat longer to melt the cheese more, but I was impatient. And it was still good. I still can’t say I’m over the moon about spaghetti squash, though the texture made it different from a chicken parmigiana dish.

Squash 2

I’m 85% sure I’d made the dish again. What I really like is that it makes two servings, so I don’t have to hold on to a lot of leftovers. I’d definitely throw in the olives and mushrooms, and I’m pretty sure I’d make a homemade spaghetti sauce (like soups, cans just don’t do it for me anymore). It actually might be a good weekend recipe so there’s less timing constraints to consider.

On a completely unrelated note, I need to stop relying on my phone to take photos. The picture problem I mentioned on my computer? I feel like it’s starting to take over my phone. Do I really need that many photos of spaghetti squash and enchiladas on my phone? Probably not. And printing photos is proving to be a pain, too, which creates a minor problem in my quest to actually finish that recipe book I talked about making a year ago. I may have to make that one of my monthly goals so it actually gets done…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

