Kale keeper

I found a keeper!

It seems slightly ironic that the description said the dish was perfect for a chilly evening given that it was nearly 70 degree yesterday. Regardless of the weather, the turkey sausage, kale and white bean soup was fantastic. Even as I’m eating leftovers for lunch now, I can’t get over how much I enjoy it.

By some miracle, I managed to follow the recipe pretty closely. I think I’ll always have a hard time taking the time to actually measure things (“you know, that looks like it’s about 2 tablespoons of olive oil and garlic…”) but that’s the benefit of cooking instead of baking. This time I didn’t throw in any additional ingredients and just kept it simple. I probably added a bit too much garlic, but it could have been the flavor of the Italian turkey sausage (which I’d never cooked with before) that stood out so much.

What I really loved is that it only took 30 minutes to make, with 20 of those dedicated to simmering the soup. It makes it really easy to whip up in the evenings between work and the gym (because I’m the idiot that decides it’s a good idea to workout the day after hot yoga despite sore muscles…).

Kale soup

It’s odd — the more I make my own soups, the less I enjoy canned. That’s actually part of the reason I ended up making it, despite the unseasonably warm weather. Canned soup is something really simple to bring for lunch, but it’s also incredibly easy to get stuck in a rut with (which increases the temptation for me to just go to Chipotle…). At least with homemade soups I get better flavor and it seems to be more filling, not to mention I get the satisfaction of knowing I made it from scratch.

This soup will be really great comfort food when the cold weather undoubtedly comes back in the next few days. Make no mistake, though, this girl is prematurely ready for spring!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “Kale keeper

  1. Oooh, this looks good! I might have to try this … or I might have you make this for me. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Putting canned soup to shame | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

