Hot diggity dog

I feel like I accomplished an amazing feat today. It might even be a bucket list item, if I actually had one (though I’ve been tempted to make a 30 before 30 list after seeing one of the middle sister’s friend’s list).

Let me preface this with a couple of things. One, I’ve never done yoga. Well, technically I’ve done child’s pose and the downward dog, but only as a cool down for my kickboxing class. Two, I’m not flexible and I’m even terrible at stretching. It’s rather pathetic, actually, though I often just blame it on my uncooperative knees (long story).

That’s what makes today’s accomplishment even more rewarding.

I survived hot yoga. For an hour and 20 minutes.

I first heard about hot yoga a few summers ago when a friend in Atlanta raved about it. Lindsay was also a fan and invited me to a class last week. Since she’s endured Zumba with me (and because I’m back to only having Zumba one night a week), I figured I’d give it a shot. Throw caution to the wind and try something new, right? (Though to be honest, I agreed to it when I thought the class was only 45 minutes or an hour.)

Now remember, I’ve never done yoga. So throw in the fact that it’s 100+ degrees in a packed room, and you’ve got a potential recipe for disaster. And I won’t lie – there were a few moments where I was pretty sure my life was going to start flashing before my eyes. (Turns out I was just dizzy, but thankfully Lindsay kept me from panicking. Kind of.)

In the end, I prevailed. What’s odd is that it seems to have the opposite effect of Zumba and kickboxing. I come away from those classes feeling peppy and having a ton of energy (almost to the point where it’s a little concerning). Hot yoga was a whole different beast. It’s still a great feeling, but it’s much more zen. In a round-about way, I suppose it relates to my focus on simplicity this month. My mind is clear, my body is calm and I’m content (which could just be a result of my body not being able to move…).

Although it’s a great post-workout feeling, I can’t say I’d do it again (though Lindsay assured me the instructor she’s had before wasn’t as tough. Leave it to me to end up with the founder of the hot yoga studio in Columbia this morning). But who knows. Stranger things have happened…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Hot diggity dog

  1. Pingback: Getting back into the groove |

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

