Importance of connecting

I’d say this pretty much sums up my week and why I’m embracing simplicity this month:

Smile

I’ve been trying to pinpoint why my week, which I thought would be rough given it was the first 5-day week of getting back into the swing of things, actually turned out to be great. Nothing was out of the ordinary or all that different, yet for some reason it didn’t feel like an average week.

It may have been partially due to feeling accomplished with all my productivity (at work and in my personal life — must be all the coffee I’m drinking in lieu of Diet Coke…) or even just that I’m taking more time out to appreciate the little things in life. While those certainly contributed, it felt like something else made my week better.

Then this morning, I realized that it’s because I felt connected.

Perhaps it’s because Lindsay is focusing on relationships this month (as a side comment, you’ve got to check out the ridiculously adorable photo album she crafted!) but I’ve been trying to amp up the social aspect of my resolution. I’ve got friend dates scheduled for the next two months (Lindsay and I love our friendship date jar!) and I went on a mission to find cute stationary so I can start reaching out to more people through snail mail (seemingly outdated, but I absolutely love it).

The more I think about it, it seems that embracing and cultivating social connections brings me the most contentment. One day this week I got a letter from my old college roommate, a card and sisters photos from Mama G and a belated Christmas card from another old friend. I got to read all the letters right before going to zumba with Lindsay, which was followed by one of those long, relaxed chats that covers anything and everything with the gentleman. (Since the middle refers to her boyfriend as the boy, I figured I needed something different). In a span of five hours, I connected with five people I have mad love for whose importance in my life can’t even be measured. And isn’t that much better than spending my evening going to zumba and reading alone (though I will admit I do need that alone time now and again)?

Granted, I know that can’t happen every day. Not only is it not practical for them, but I also need time for me as well. As with all things in life, it probably boils down to finding a balance, and that’s something I want to start striving for with my monthly goals. I’ve discovered that while my other goals are important, most of them are very me focused. And actually, a lot of them end up being solo endeavors, like de-cluttering and working out and reading. I want to make sure I’m not so caught up in my goals that I don’t have time for connecting with those who are important to me. After all, what’s great about your success or even failures if you don’t have anyone to share it with?

And that’s my deep thought for the morning (naturally fueled by coffee).

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

