Happiness = productivity and coffee

Sometimes I swear that given enough coffee, I could rule the world.

Okay, that might be a slight exaggeration, but it’s definitely fueled a lot of productivity in the last few days (including an early morning workout today!), many of which pertain to my action plans for this month. I probably won’t write frequent updates on my goals (primarily because it kind of feels like bragging and I probably wouldn’t even want to read it if I weren’t the one actually doing it) but I couldn’t help but share.

Purging and purchasing: Lately these go hand in hand. Yesterday I tackled my kitchen, and it. was. fabulous. Not the actual cleaning and organizing, per say, but I love having just the essentials and everything in its place. Even after grocery shopping today, my kitchen (including the fridge and all the cupboards) feels clutter-free (especially since I stuck to my grocery list based on my planned meals for the week — another win). It’s like removing stuff makes me think twice about bringing in more stuff.

Single-tasking: I won’t lie – while I was excited about this goal, I thought it would be a pain in the ass. And sometimes it is, particularly since you can’t always predict when a call or email will divert your attention. What I’ve discovered, though, is that I tend to multi-task because I don’t want to forget something. I’ll be writing an email and think of a report I need to update, which reminds me of an article I meant to read, which naturally mentions a book that I want to know whether the library has, and so on and so forth.  Instead of giving into the impulse to open another document or window, I write it down. I  know — does having yet another list really help me embrace simplicity? Surprisingly yes. Not only do I not have a dozen things up on my computer or seven different documents in front of me on my desk, but because I’ve written it down, my brain can forget about it until I have time to focus on just that. It doesn’t work in all cases, but I’ve actually been impressed by how great of a shift it’s been for me (although it could just be because I’m a list person anyway…).

One sentence journal: As with my list making, I’m in love with this. And actually, it’s become part of a larger project for the year. One of my Christmas presents was a classy notebook which I’ve turned into a record-keeping/memoir of sorts for 2013. A few days ago Lindsay mentioned a blogger who had a resolution of taking a photo a day. I didn’t want to be that extreme, but I think a photo a week and tracking my goals each month will be a good memento to reflect on throughout the year and even after (which I don’t even want to think about considering we’re only seven days into the new year).

You know, there’s really something about productivity and accomplishment that brings happiness. Although before long I’m bound to come down from this caffeine high. Hopefully it’s after I tackle my spare room and another book…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

