Christmas crafting

I’m pretty sure the best gift I’ve ever received is my hot glue gun (thanks, mom!) since it does wonders. Seriously. It did give me a bit of trouble yesterday, which I’ll get to momentarily, but it’s really been my pride and joy when it comes to crafting.

While I love crafting, taking it on for Christmas gifts is a risky endeavor. In some ways it’s a bit more meaningful, but there seems to be a bit more pressure and suspense when the recipient receives it. I think it’s in part because I craft what I like and pick colors/patterns/products that match my taste, and I know that it’s not always someone else’s cup of tea.

Thankfully, so far my Christmas crafting has been relatively successful (including my collage of photos below, though the actual quality of the photos isn’t that great since I used my phone). With the gift exchange last night, I just couldn’t resist posting.

Gifts

Crayon frame: I saw it on pinterest (okay, let’s be honest — all these ideas came from pinterest) and thought it was perfect for a friend who is a pre-school teacher. Plus it’s incredibly simple — simple frame, crayons and my trusty glue gun. It actually matches a crayon H I crafted for her last year for her classroom, which now that I think about it, makes the next gift slightly less original.

Yarn H: I love initials (ergo, one of my biases with crafting). My L necklace is one of my favorites, and the yarn L I did almost a year ago still hangs in my office with Lindsay (thankfully another L – double points!). Since I had success with the L, I thought I’d try the H. This one went much smoother and I actually think it turned out better than the L since I had a better method to my madness. It could also be that the letters I choose are relatively straight-forward. I think I’d struggle more if I had to do something like a B or M.

Note holder: I was torn on this, and even now I’m not sure how I feel about it. It’s intended to be functional for an office – either for storing notes (you can just about imagine how many post-it and loose leaf notes/lists I have all over my desk) or for something more sentimental. The note in the photo isn’t actually what I gave to the recipient (it was one of those old school names where each letter has an adjective or phrase that describes you – like lovely for the L in Liz). I was a little disappointed since the clip fell off in the gift bag, which was a slight glue gun fail, but overall it seems to work. I’m hoping to craft one for my office just to see if it’s as functional as I anticipated/intended it to be.

Reinbeer: Um, adorable! Slightly harder to craft than I thought (I’m apparently challenged with pipe cleaner) but it wasn’t a pinterest fail like I thought it was going to be. It was a slight struggle to keep the eyes on the bottle, particularly once the beer was cold. I’d purchased the beer at room temperature so I could glue all the pieces on, but wanted it to be cold when I delivered it. One eye fell off in the process of chilling, and while it was a battle to get the hot glue to work on the cold bottle, I managed to get it to stick. Like I said, it’s adorable, but it’s definitely something that won’t stick for too long.

That was actually the bulk of my Christmas crafting for the year, though I do have a couple more things up my sleeve. While it’s been a little stressful (both completing and giving the gifts), in the end I think it’s definitely worth it.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

