My kind of baking

Last night, partly out of wanting homemade comfort food and party as a way to clear my head, I decided to cook something new. I found a recipe on pinterest for chicken pot pie that looked relatively simple. Sounded perfect given this colder weather.

One of my missions for next year is to read directions thoroughly before cooking. As the potatoes were boiling, I finally did more than just skim the recipe. Didn’t realize that the recipe is meant to make two chicken pot pies… Oh well. From that point I was able to alter most of the recipe, although I still ended up with more filling than needed. At least I can freeze that and just pop it in a pie crust after the holiday season.

Pot Pie in Progress

It took me a little longer (like almost an hour and a half…) than I anticipated to whip everything together, which wasn’t ideal given I didn’t get home until 6 and still had a to-do list looming over me. At least I had the 35 minutes while it was baking to clean and organize crafting projects. I think that’s one of my favorite parts of cooking – being able to walk away and come back half an hour later to the finished product. When I saw the pot pie out of the oven, it almost made me want to bake an actual pie. Almost.

Baked

In retrospect, I mostly just wanted the crust since I’ve been on a bit pastry kick lately. But this will certainly do.

Finished pot pie

I can’t say I’d make it again (in part because it’s very rare that I crave chicken pot pie), but it did feel great to take a break to enjoy some homemade comfort food in the middle of the week.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

2 responses to “My kind of baking

  1. Nice looking chicken pot pie 🙂

  2. Pingback: Perfect timing | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

