Tis the Season

I’m doing a terrible job at enjoying the holiday season. Normally this is my absolute favorite time of year, and while I’m still indulging in my fair share (if not more…) of Christmas music and decorations, I feel like I’ve been anything but jolly.

The culprit? Lack of me time. And really just time in general.

With the exception of one day (which coincidentally was the last time I blogged…), my life has been a whirlwind since returning from London (which I’ve promised Miss Lindsay I’d blog about, so check back later this week). Between craziness at work, Christmas shopping/crafting (I can’t wait to blog about them after the holidays!), social events and trying to keep some semblance of order in my life, I feel like I haven’t had time to catch my breath (which is probably evident even by the number of side comments I’ve made in parenthesis…whoops!). Oddly enough, the only time I do that is when I’m at the gym, so I’m probably literally trying to catch my breath. And as much as I love making lists, if I create one more just to keep everything straight, my head will literally spin.

But in the midst of all this, it is reinforcing my theme and action plans for next year. Last night I started drafting my goals, and to say I’m ready for a fresh start and change of pace is an understatement. While I haven’t been able to make a dent on anything I mentioned in my last post, the rest of the month is focused on getting rid of the baggage. I want my apartment and work space to be organized and clutter-free. I want the pesky little things on my to do list (like ordering contacts before my prescription expires) crossed off. I also want to take time out to clear my head and actually enjoy the holiday season.

It’s a tall order, but if nothing else, I just keep reminding myself that in 10 days I’ll be home for a full week of family and puppy time. And I really can’t get better than that. ❤

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

