All over the map

Holy cow.

I’ve been neglecting my blog so much lately that it’s starting to get embarrassing. And unfortunately (but for very good reason), the lack of posting will continue.

November is the month I’d been anxious about for quite some time. Any time I look at my planner, I would have a mini panic attack, although half of what was on it was actually good, like last weekend’s trip home for “fakesgiving” (since I won’t be home for Thanksgiving). I don’t know what it is, but there’s something about being at home that calms me down and makes me feel ten times better about life. It may have something to do with these two sweethearts:

It was a bit hard to come back knowing that the week ahead was dedicated to helping put on a two-day conference. I think I made it more stressful for myself given that Lindsay and I presented one of the sessions, but we got through it with flying colors. We even got people excited about data. Who knew?! Plus it’s always great to be re-inspired by the work that you do, and somehow conferences always seem to do that for me.

I’ve had the weekend to recuperate (and can highly recommend the new Lincoln movie and this baked manicotti recipe) before diving into my next adventure: a week in London with the sisters. It’s actually hard to believe it’s here. Just a few months ago we were trying to figure out if/when/how/where to meet the little sister once she finished up her study abroad program. Now in about 50 hours, I’ll be boarding a plane for an international adventure with two of my favorite people. It’ll be a little hard not to be home with the parents for Thanksgiving, but I think that’s just going to make Christmas that much more special (although I’m frantically trying to figure out creative gifts on a budget…).

So there you have it. November has been a crazy month (hence the lack of blog posts), but I’m quite surprised at how well things have panned out (and how sane I still am). Let’s hope the same holds true for my packing skills today…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

