A small risk

About a month or so ago I went a little crazy with canvas projects. The next day at work when I was showing off my artwork, our intern (it’s weird to call her an intern, though, considering she runs a nonprofit in Jefferson City) asked if I would create a piece for a fundraising event. I said yes, and tonight I’ve got a canvas being auctioned off at a gala for the Central Missouri Foster Care & Adoption Association.

I won’t lie, I was nervous. Minus a few gifts for friends, all my crafting is for me. It’s about my style, taste, preference, etc. Plus if I don’t like it, no one would be the wiser. Could I really create something that people would bid on at a silent auction?

Because of that, it was hard to figure out where to start. I had a running list of about a dozen quotes and designs I thought would be great for the piece, but I also had to keep my own limitations in mind. When I spotted this, I knew I had a winner. And since I still love the flower canvases I made back in July, I thought I’d incorporate that with the quote.

Once I laid out the petals, I kept going back and forth (and back and forth again) about whether to include the quote or not. Ultimately I decided to, though, and I finally had a finished product on Sunday night.

I can’t say I’m entirely sold on it (primarily the handwriting), but I supposed you’re your own worst critic. The intern/director of CMFCAA absolutely loved it and I’ve gotten great feedback. The project also gave me the crafting bug again. I think tackling three canvases in one weekend the other month was a bit much. Now that I’ve got another one under my belt, though, I think I’m about ready to tackle the other canvas for my living room that I’ve been plotting for about 8 months now…

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

