The name game

I’ve been on a major soup kick lately and (sadly) have a running list of about a dozen different soups I want to try. Last night I decided to experiment with taco soup, which made me a little nervous.

One of the interesting (and maybe even great) things about this recipe is that there aren’t really any directions. You just get the ingredients and mix. The only thing I didn’t use was the ranch mix and I also added a can of tomato soup to thicken it a bit. And it literally took me all of 15 minutes to make. Not bad.

In some ways I missed the freshness that I had with the ham and potato soup I made last week. Having everything canned instead of fresh makes it feel heavier and less healthy, but it was still good comfort food. I can’t say that it tasted taco-like, although I’m not sure what I could have done differently. Maybe throwing in hot sauce or rice or tortilla chips? I’d thought about using black beans in addition to or instead of kidney beans, but in retrospect I’m glad I didn’t.

What also threw me off was that it was more of a chili than a soup (or are the two terms somewhat interchangeable?) and the only difference between traditional chili and this was the corn. Since I love chili it’s not such an awful thing, but I was hoping it would have more of a Mexican flavor to the soup. Perhaps next time (although who knows when that will be, given my growing list of other soups to try…).

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

