On the fence

I’d made the decision to make spaghetti squash this week, in part because it seemed fitting for the weather but also because it presented a unique challenge. I’ve had it twice before but have never made it on my own (or even watched someone work with it, for that matter). Consequently, the whole process started with me googling “how to cook spaghetti squash.” That’s when I came across this recipe (how would a Mediterranean-esque dish not catch my eye?) and figured I could make it work.

I’m crazy about basil, the tomatoes were incredibly juicy and I had everything else on hand except for the squash. To be honest, I’m a little torn on spaghetti squash. In some ways it’s nice that you can just throw it in the oven and walk away, but the aftermath is a lot more work. I’m pretty sure I had strings of squash all over my counter and stove, so my technique could use some work. It seemed like a lot of effort (and it may just seem that way since I got impatient waiting for it to cool enough for me to actually string apart), but at least it’s a healthier alternative to pasta or potatoes, which is what I’d normally use for Mediterranean dishes.

I think I need to experiment with spaghetti squash a bit more. It’s been fine the few times I’ve had it, but I don’t know that it’s something I’d readily seek out yet or think of to use in recipes. And it could just be that the dish as a whole didn’t stand out to me. It isn’t something to write home about (which actually seems a little sad since I’m blogging about it…).

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

