Hearty soup

Last week I found myself craving soup, in part because of the chilly weather. I got all the ingredients to make ham and potato soup but wasn’t able to whip it up until tonight…naturally right before we’re supposed to have nearly a week of 70 degree weather.

Regardless, it was fabulous. I’d started out with the intention of measuring everything, not wanting the soup to be watered down or stew-like. That, however, went right out the window. I threw in more carrots and green beans but didn’t use as many onions. I also just used whatever amount four medium-sized red potatoes got me. I figured all that was close enough…

While I was nervous about the side butter-flour-milk mixture, somehow it perfected the soup. It wasn’t too creamy and especially once the soup thickened, it was perfect. I’m hoping it makes for great leftovers, too.

I’ll definitely be making this throughout the winter season. For the time being, I’m going to embrace the fall season a bit more, which later this week includes spaghetti squash. It should be an interesting adventure!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

