Options galore

Last night I made a genius move with dinner. Why I haven’t thought of doing something like it before is beyond me (although it’s likely because this time around was a stroke of luck and it’s not always so easy to pull off in such a diverse way).

As a back story (which I’m sure is incredibly captivating…) I’ve been traveling quite a bit lately. Like at least once a week for the past month. As a result, there’s been next to no cooking and I hadn’t gone legit grocery shopping in quite some time. It got to be rather pathetic, actually, but I’m very much on my way to remedying that. My only fear was that I would go overboard and end up with leftovers that I didn’t want to eat (not that I’m opposed to leftovers, but after 4 or 5 meals of the same thing, you’re ready for something new).

Yesterday I spent a sad good amount of time looking up different recipes I could attempt in the next few weeks. When I came across a Southwest Chopped Chicken Salad recipe, I knew want I wanted to make for dinner. I was nervous, though, since I didn’t know whether the salad would be good as leftovers given the ingredients and dressing. With my luck all that effort would result in one good meal, and that’s always disappointing.

I also wanted to pair it with something, but from personal experience I knew I didn’t want to have taco bake leftovers for a week. So, I decided to be smart and cut both recipes in half since they had really similar ingredients. The result was perfect:

The salad was as great as I thought it would be and I’m taking precautions (like storing the dressing and salad in separate containers and only cutting the tomatoes and avocados when I’m about to eat the salad) to make sure it doesn’t get soggy. I followed Miss Madison’s lead (I stumbled upon her blog on pinterest a few months ago and I’ve been hooked on it ever since ) and only used half the amounts for the dressing, and it does make for a better amount. I also didn’t use the tortilla chips or the full amount of onions or green peppers. Otherwise both recipes were really straight-forward, with both being done within an hour.

What makes it so genius? As I was finishing up the salad, it dawned on me that it would make a great wrap (which I confirmed at lunch today). Not only that, but I saved the extra ground beef and tomato sauce from the taco bake so that I can whip up spaghetti later this week. So essentially I took two recipes and ended up with five different meal options for the first half of my week. That’s a use of leftovers I can fully support!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

One response to “Options galore

  1. Pingback: Recycled recipes | Life After School

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

