Hitting the reset button

For the first time in a long while, I got a fantastic night’s sleep (which could have something to do with the open windows and crisp 50ish degree weather) and finally feel recharged.

I got home right around 10 last night (that’s how you know you’re getting old…) when all the sudden I was struck with the urge to organize, purge, clean and just generally get my life in order. And we’re not talking a simple wash a few dishes, start a load of laundry and call it a night kind of deal. It was serious stuff — cleaning out the fridge, mopping, going through the clothes in my closet (it’s time to re-start the hanger trick!) and re-organizing my bathroom items (note to self: stop buying nail polish and travel size bottles of shampoo).

While I couldn’t tell you where all that energy came from to keep me up that late (not to mention why I’m up and as energetic as I am right now), I can’t say the urge to tackle those tasks came out of nowhere. I mentioned feeling a bit restless a couple of weeks ago, so I did what I always do – I checked out way too many books from the library and started looking for inspiration and the “a-ha!” moments I love so much. It feels like my mind’s been on overdrive processing everything, starting with The Buddha Walks Into a Bar:

“Day by day, we may find ourselves getting restless with the same classes or job, the same relationship, the same hangouts or hang-ups, and we long for some radical change. However, it is not our world that is necessarily problematic; it’s our point of view.”

Bingo.

I don’t need a crazy life change or half a dozen new goals or other responsibilities to add to my to-do list just to spice things up during my week (although I won’t lie, it did cross my mind at first, particularly since I’ve started reading Happier at Home). What I really need is a change in perspective and my attitude. A fresh start, if you will.

For whatever reason, I feel like I’ve become complacent lately. It’s not a bad thing, but it’s also not me. I’m the idealistic, upbeat, optimistic one who loves to inspire others as much as myself. Not only is it what makes me me, but it’s also what I value. As I’ve been reading Life After College (I stumbled upon this and when I saw it was full of quotes, lists and book recommendations, I couldn’t resist. Plus it’s similar to my blog title, right?) I’ve been able to identify what it is I pride in myself and want to exude. And complacency is not one of those things.

It’ll still be a work in progress (heck, it’s likely I could crash in a couple of hours), but I’m putting more effort into recharging my batteries and getting back to basics. Something that’s oddly helped is listening to The Happiness Advantage (the library only has the audiobook) on my commute for work. I haven’t gotten to the seven principles yet (which is slightly annoying considering I’m on the third disc already…) but his anecdotal stories give me fantastic start to the day. It really is a matter of perspective.

It’s time to take Lindsay’s advice and live what I love. And for me, it’s part happiness, positivity and love.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

