Fresh flavor overload

My “go out with a big bang” meal last night wasn’t out of my comfort zone quite as much as I’d anticipated. When I finished cooking it, I discovered it was eerily similar to the meal I had with Lindsay and the middle last month. It also reminded me of the spicy Hawaiian burgers and my brief stint with mango salsa.

Regardless, though, it was still unique. I decided to try Jamaican Jerk Turkey Burger with Tropical Fruit Salsa. It sounds a lot fancier than it really is, and I really wish I would have spotted this a few months ago. Turns out mangos and papayas aren’t as readily available at the grocery store come September. But, I made it work and also added a bit more flavor by adding peaches.

As if I didn’t already know, I’ve realized just how much creative liberty I take when cooking (which is probably why I’m not a fan of baking). I couldn’t tell you how much of anything I put in the salsa or burgers (although I did use the correct measurements for the turkey, ketchup and egg to be on the safe side). Other than to measure for the ketchup and oatmeal, there was not a measuring cup or spoon in sight. I must live on the wild side…

Sometimes that backfires, though. I didn’t read the instructions all the way through to notice that the turkey mixture needed to be refrigerate for 20 minutes. I’m not sure what (if anything) that does, but at least it gave me time to work on my side dish.

For the last week or so I’ve been craving the tomato and basil pasta salad the middle introduced me to, but I’d also spotted a greek pasta salad on pinterest. Once again, I decided to take creative liberties and merge the two. I started with the basic instructions from my sister’s salad and threw in kalamata olives, feta cheese, and oregano. So not really a greek pasta salad, but close enough. I almost think I prefer the basic tomato and basil mix, but thankfully I put aside a small container of just that for later this week.

Once the burgers were finally ready, I got to put all the flavors and colors together for a fantastic meal:

It probably wasn’t in my best interest to have so many different flavors, but it was still awesome (not a stellar word choice, but that’s all I could come up with). I may throw more jerk seasoning on the leftover burgers since that didn’t stand out at all, but it could just be hidden beneath the tropical salsa goodness. Another success in the kitchen!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

