Keeping it simple

As much as I love cooking, there are still days where I’d much rather keep it simple. That’s been the case for about a week now…

Saturday night I had a relaxing girls night, and what better way to top it off than with a romantic comedy and indoor s’mores? Aside from waiting for the oven to heat up, it’s actually a really quick recipe. Obviously the drizzling of chocolate didn’t go so well, so in the future I think I’m just going to put a few chocolate chips next to the marshmallow as it’s broiling. Not too shabby looking for spending 70 seconds in the oven, right?

I’ve also created my own concoction of sorts. Actually, it’s probably not all that unique, but it’s definitely been a staple as of late for simplicity reasons. I love the mix of flavors in my white chicken chili, so I’ve combined that with a family favorite. Growing up, my dad had a recipe we all call “souped up rice.” Essentially, you cook rice in cream of chicken and viola!

Not wanting to rely on heavy creams as my sauce, I’ve taken to boiling the water for rice with two chicken bouillon cubs. After the rice is done, I throw in all the seasonings from the chili (I think it’s cumin and chili powder that make it pop, but I throw in so many random spices that I can’t be sure) and green peas (frozen, since I’m not a fan of canned peas). I also put in 1/2 cup of fat-free cheddar cheese and 1/4 cup mexican shredded cheese (it balances out the lack of flavor in the fat-free cheese….). The end result is comforting and filling without making me feel gross. In other words, it’s perfect.

It’s been nice to keep it simple with my cooking lately, but I’m hoping to kick it up a notch tomorrow. I noticed in my planner today that I travel each week for the next month so cooking ventures may be few and far between. May as well go out with a bang.

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

