Creative liberties

I have to say that I rather enjoy the switch in zumba nights. Not having a set time to get to the gym on Tuesday nights gives me more opportunities to cook for the week, and I plan to take full advantage of it.

With this new-found freedom (apparently I do dramatics well today), last night I decided to try parmesan chicken cutlets. It seemed simple enough, and it actually was. Mix a few things together, coat the chicken and pop it in the oven. In it’s simplest form, I followed the recipe quite well. It’s just those pesky measurements that I don’t necessarily follow…

While I stuck with the Italian breadcrumbs, I used more than the recipe called for – in part because it seemed to be dominated by cheese which, while great, wasn’t the flavor or texture I was searching for with the chicken. I threw in a lot more seasonings (garlic pepper is my most utilized grinder). It also seemed a bit odd to me that there wasn’t an adherent (is that what they call it?) to make sure the seasonings actually stuck to the chicken. Since I’d rather be safe than sorry, I whipped an egg white and used that to bind the two together. So really…I followed the process and not so much the ingredients from the recipe.

In the end, though, it turned out to be a simple, healthy meal that I fully anticipate making again:

Plus, since I just had some of the leftovers during my lunch break, I can vouch it’s a good meal for the whole week. Even better!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

