Words

After a successful week of work travels (minus the scare of tornado sirens my night in Branson — definitely not an ideal time to be on the top floor of a hotel, but thankfully all was fine) I was able to unwind with The Words. The movie was actually better than I thought, and a quote from the movie has been on my mind ever since: he loved the words more than he loved the woman who inspired the words.

In some ways it got me thinking about my own relationship with writing. I love it. To get lost in the process and not even think about the words that come out on paper (or computer) is almost indescribable. I’ve been trying to pinpoint what exactly it is that inspires me. Do I appreciate the words or is it what inspires the words that captivate me? What events or people in my life prompt my need to write? Where does my good writing originate?

Perhaps it’s a little different since I don’t necessarily write for an audience (minus my blog, but in some ways that’s a different experience of writing for me). I’m not so focused on the quality of the writing and the impact it can/could/should have on others. It’d be great if I could get to that point, though, which brings me to a small but exciting (at least to me) development in my life. Plus it sprung from another serendipitous event, which we all know I love as of late.

I love pouring over the professional and community education catalogue each fall and spring (it’s actually a bit sad how excited I get when it comes in the mail..). I’ve been tempted to take a writing course but never found one that really stood out to me. Or if I did, it didn’t work schedule-wise. The same was true for this fall. I was really intrigued by the Intro to Memoir Writing class, but the first class session conflicted with a work conference. To say I was a little bummed was an understatement, but what can you do?

In the midst of my travels, though, I got a message that the conference was cancelled. Immediately I thought of the memoir writing class. The stars have aligned and now I get to take it!

I’ll be honest – I don’t know that I have aspirations to write a memoir and I also don’t know that my stories are memoir-worthy. But as the little sister says, everyone has a story to tell. Writing is how I process things in my world. If nothing else, I think this will be a great experience to write in a different capacity and be exposed to other writings and authors with similar inspirations. Lately I’ve been very much getting out of my comfort zone, so I think it’s a prime opportunity to dive into this venture.

And I think I’ve realized just through writing this blog post that I’m definitely more in love with the events and people that inspire my writing. I’m excited to see what unfolds during the memoir writing class!

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

