New month…or leaf

Normally I hate the keep calm posters (although I couldn’t really tell you why, since it seems like it would be right up my alley), but this one seemed to fit my current mood and love for all things fall:

My month couldn’t have gotten off to a better start, and I’m hoping the trend continues this month. The parents were in town this weekend and I got to see new parts of the area, which is always a nice change. It’s actually quite sad that I’ve been here for four years and hadn’t experienced the wonder that is Hermann. You can bet I’ll be going back this fall when the weather is even cooler. Words cannot convey how excited I am for fall — sweaters, scarves, coffee, a crisp chill in the air, changing leaves.

I also got to start my work week off on the right foot, too. I worked from home this morning before starting my week-long travels. I woke up to rain and thunder (which I love) and proceeded to cross little things that have been on my to-do list at work for weeks. It also didn’t hurt that I had a huge pot of coffee (I know in my last post I said I needed to switch to tea…but old habits die hard, particularly on overcast, rainy mornings like today. And at least I’m drinking more water!) and had the windows open to listen to the rain. If that doesn’t start your day off right, then I don’t know what will!

The day also ended on a great note when a new zumba class. It’s only the fourth or fifth time I’ve tried a zumba class in a different location, and each time I become more convinced that if I ever move, I’m going to have to take my normal zumba instructor with me. (Okay, so perhaps it isn’t that bad — it probably just takes a few sessions to click with an instructor). After a weekend of indulging, though, it was good to get in a workout that challenged me mentally and physically. I’m hoping I can time my travels just right so that I’m able to try another zumba class later on in the week, too.

It’s been a great shift in perspective and attitude, so I’m definitely welcoming September. Now if the weather would just get the memo that fall is about here….

About dakotalizzie

I'm a twentysomething young professional living in Nebraska. My blog centers on the things I love - my family, dogs, friends, crafting, cooking, life chats and health. All these things help me lead the good life, and isn't that really what it's all about?

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

